Flying Cockroach or Muscles? To Panic or not to Panic?

in Alien Art Hivelast year

I learned to draw from watching anime until I came up with my own art style. At the age of 11, my friends and I became fond of drawing characters that represent each of us. I started to come up with our anime versions based on the character designs we want instead of basing it on our real face. We have our anime crushes as well so I slowly came up with stories out of my imagination.

I was thinking if I were to make an anime, I want the genre to be action, fantasy, romance, and comedy. This has been my unfinished business due to busy life. My boyfriend convinced me to push through my own manga/comic since I already have characters and some fragments of stories that I just have to connect and continue.

I keep on learning and enhancing my art style until I was able to come up with the final character designs a few months before pandemic came.

This is Hideki Takahashi, one of the characters in the manga I'll make as my future project. His character design and personality is inspired by Hiei from the anime, Yu Yu Hakusho. I made a tall and adult version. One of my friends is Hiei's fan so this guy will be the love interest of her character, Yui. I drew this way back 2021 and it's in traditional drawing style since I haven't learned how to draw digitally back then. Since one of the genres of my story is action, my characters are warriors with superpowers and weapons.

Hideki is a guy who always puts on a tough act and he's often untrusting and unfriendly towards people. He shows no mercy and he doesn't go easy even on women, which makes people find him very intimidating. This is the reason why his mission partner, Yui doesn't get along with him. Yui never felt intimidated. She's actually pissed and would always talk back until the two of them end up bickering. This illustration is one of the scenes in the anime story I'm creating.

DOUBLE PANIC

Hideki and his mission partner, Yui temporarily stayed at a safe villa until Hideki recovers from the virus that paralyzed his left arm. His arm is immobile and in excruciating pain but he puts on a tough act, as if it's nothing serious. He took a bath and he went out of the bathroom shirtless since he can't put a shirt on due to his paralyzed arm.

His inner thoughts:
"What a pain. I can't even dry myself properly. Well, whatever...I'll have it healed soon."

Hideki-bath.png

This is how I imagined Hideki's look while he's having such train of thoughts, unaware of the panic he will cause to Yui.

Yui is about to prepare their dinner when a flying cockroach approached her. She freaked out then she started swinging her sword saying "Shoo! Shoo! Go away", restraining herself from screaming because she doesn't want Hideki to know that she's scared of a cockroach. When she heard the sound of bathroom door, she started to run away from the cockroach and pretend that she is in a hurry to pick the big pot she will use for cooking. While she's in panic, Hideki just went out of the bathroom and she freaked out even more as she feels shocked and awkward seeing him shirtless for the first time. It's double panic for her that she even dropped the big pot she's holding on both her feet. The flying roach is a virus carrier and it's one of the minions of the monsters they have to defeat that's why it's so persistent. Its goal is to infect as many people as it can with the virus that cause paralysis.

LET THE BICKERING BEGIN

Hideki saw what she's doing from the time she started to freak out with the flying roach. It started to fly towards him. Since his left arm is paralyzed, he used his right hand to grab the roach then he pulverized it with his bear hand.

Yui feels so embarrassed when Hideki saw her panic. She failed to hide her fear of cockroach. This is how I imagine her with her inner thoughts.

345070104_952046212594482_1773816188451891091_n.jpg

This is how I imagine Hideki's reaction after squishing the cockroach with his hand and after seeing Yui panic.

344297719_899343464476039_3758024230772164518_n.jpg

Hideki may be a serious guy but this face is starting to show that he feels a bit amused to know how a skilled fighter like Yui who can match his battle skills, is scared of a puny cockroach. He finds it unbelievable and so the bickering began.

Hideki: You call yourself a warrior and you're scared of a puny cockroach? What a shame.

Yui: Oh really? You're like a crippled old man right now and you got the nerve to insult the person who is nursing you back to health.

Hideki: You...intend to take care of me? (with a shocked face)

Yui: Don't get me wrong. I'm helping you recover fast so you can make yourself useful, Mr. tough warrior. You could at least help me prepare our meals when you recover.

Hideki: Do it yourself. I have more important things to do than your girly stuff.

Yui figured that Hideki doesn't know a basic life skill such as household chores so she felt amused. It's her first time seeing his weakness. It's her turn to get even after being insulted. This is how she responds.

344994683_2521295381363337_923020466326482807_n.jpg

Hideki: I'm no housewife! I pursue strength. I don't need to learn such lame and girly chores.

Yui: Seriously? Oh my...cooking is a basic survival skill and you don't know how to make food for yourself, mister warrior. What-a-shame. (with a mocking face)

I imagine Hideki looking hilarious as his veins snap from Yui's mockery. He felt the urge to make her shut up.

Hideki: If you're such a good cook then why don't we have a deal?

Yui: What deal?

Hideki: If I like your cooking, then you win.

Yui: If I win, then you will treat me nicely like you do to Suichi (his only close friend) until we finish this mission.

Hideki: If I win, you will be my puppet until the end of this mission. You’ll do as I say without question.

Yui laughed hard. She's confident that she'll win. She is a housewife material among the female characters. She's the best when it comes to household chores.

Hideki: Laugh while you can. I'll get myself a slave soon.
Yui: Hideki will be a tamed beast soon.

How will everything turn out? Stay tuned and see how a flying cockroach unconsciously served its unexpected purpose after making such a mess.