Seashell Structure- #17- What are you reading right now?

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago

6.jpg

Today I cleaned the my place and did all the chores that I've postsponed throughout the week. I wish I could figure out ways to keep everything neat without having to clean constany, is that even possible? However, one thing that motivates me to get things done is audiobooks.

Do you consider listening to audiobooks as reading?

I love reading paperback and on my kindle (even my phone), but the only way I finish many books is with audibooks. There are insane amount of choices and even Blinkist has cool 15min book summaries if I want something extra quick.
1.jpg

I discovered my love for audibooks from Unfortunate Events read by Tim Curry, the actor, he also read the Abhorsen series. I like how animated his characters feel and sets the atmosphere well. Audiobooks are a skill and not all audiobooks are the same quality. I understand why some people have negative audiobook associations.

2.jpg

Another great advantage of audiobooks is learning how to pronounce things. I've many timesthan not repeated my favorite words and phrases outloud, trying to mimic the accents. I just love Stephen Fry's reading of Harry Potter, and feels very authentic for the setting.

An interesting audiobook can motivare me to clean more than I would have otherwise, since I get swooped by the story and don't notice the time pass. I don't always feel like listening to books, but that's usually because I start some book that doesn't interest me (I dislike leaving abandoning books). I'm trying to let go now of books that don't grab my attention, otherwise I end up "procrastinating" on reading them.

3.jpg

I was lucky in middle school I got to pick whatever I want to read for school, and at least got to pick my own book ocassionally in highschool. In elementary school I had to read Winnie the Pooh and I hated it since and I recently found out how sad the author's biography was (especially his son's). On the other hand, some curriculum books were immeasurably valuable even if hard to read. Two highschool books to come to mind are The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini and Beloved by Toni Morrison. I sobbed for both books, but books like that are so important on showing us other people's lives and perspectives.

Have you ever cried reading a book?

4.jpg

Right now I'm listening to something lighthearted, more out of curiosity than anything. A collection of short Steampunk stories edited by Jeff Vandermeer. The prologue caught my attention with lots interesting historical infortmation, also each story has a commentary before it. The stories themselves unfortunately haven't been memorable or particularly interesting to me. I previously really enjoyed Lovecraft's Monsters collected edited by Ellen Datlow and I was hoping this would be similar.

Ref: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/555350197802158688/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/207869339038904083/

About the art-
This was another 30min sketch and I wanted to create an underwater feel. I spent a lof of time figuring out the atmospheric perspective. The contrast is a bit too strong and I'd add some color contrast if I decided to redo the sketch. For now I'm using similar color palettes for these sketches, but I'll try diversifying and experimenting more. I've also been considering what I want to write in future posts and I might make a list :)
5.jpg

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

I agree with @rootdraws, when I saw it out of the corner of my eye it seemed to me like a reef, because of the colors, but detailing it, I see the lighting in the path. Very beautiful.
Note: I have not had the opportunity to listen to audio books, as you say, it sounds like a good idea, so I will be able to finish the list of books that I have not finished XD.

Are you developing a theme with paths? :D

I think I told you about my auditory processing ridiculousness, so I can't really do audiobooks XD

I usually do various things in my head when doing mundane crap that doesn't require my full attention (I have to do things in my head anyway before I do them so may as well do that while doing something I usually don't want to be doing but have to).

Theoretically if you do things immediately (put the thing back where you got it from as soon as you're done with it, wash the cooking things as you go, wash the dishes as soon as you're done eating, etc) then things should stay tidy but what invariably happens is that you run out of time or you're feeling lazy and put it off to do later and thus end up having to clean up XD

I really need to do a bit of that today especially seeing as I chose to be lazy the entire weekend and I still really don't want to x_x

I usually do various things in my head when doing mundane crap that doesn't require my full attention (I have to do things in my head anyway before I do them so may as well do that while doing something I usually don't want to be doing but have to).

I just woke up so I'm having hard time explaining, but this really feels like me sometimes. If I have something on my mind, I can't listen to a book, but writing notes on my phone helps me stop thinking about it. Sometimes my head gets stuck in a loop, and it's so weird, but that's usually if I'm tired or stressed.
I started listening to audibooks since I was 10, so I'm sure that helps. I admit I don't remember a lot of books I read, mostly favorite stuff, can't help it. At least then rereading my favorite books almost feels like a fresh experience :D I have a great short term memory (above average) and awful long term (below average). I wish it was reversed really.

I really need to do a bit of that today especially seeing as I chose to be lazy the entire weekend and I still really don't want to x_x

Samee! I really need to start work, I'm actually procrastinating with posts xD Best of luck!! We can do it <3 ^_^

Are you developing a theme with paths? :D

Not really xD The next one is very different, but you're right, I'm using a lot of paths. Interesting.... :D

Beautiful. Also looks like it could be underwater.

Thank you ^_^

This is gorgeous, and reminds me of my favorite childhood book: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. I feel like the Nautilus could swim into this scene at any moment ... well done!

Awww that's very kind!! :D I really want to illustrate a children's book one day ^-^

Congratulations @kristyglas! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What a lovely artwork, @kristyglas! I love all the little details! 😊
Beautiful job!

Thank you :D

I've been loving listening to audiobooks! I've "read" more books during the last 6 months than I usually do in a year! Did you know Audible has made a lot of books free during quarantine? Here is the link:
https://stories.audible.com/discovery/enterprise-discovery-21103929011?ref=adbl_ent_anon_ds_ds_dbb_0-0
So far I've listed to Anne of Green Gables, Brave New World, A Grief Observed, Atlas Shrugged, My Ántonia, Surprised by Joy, and I'm more than half-way through Moby Dick. :) Nice work on the drawings!

Oo thank you for the link!! I've heard of pre school free books, but didn't know the list is way bigger than that :D and I'll check the books you've mentioned, I only recognize Brave New world and I had a hard time understanding it, but I want to give it a second chance :D