You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To AI or Not to AI?

in Alien Art Hive9 months ago

I like your points about Digital art and Photography (there was a HUGE anti-digital photography push, and digital editing too. Filters are just Algorithms after all, with very little human input beyond "ooh pretty".)

For me, I think AI is not going to steal our artists. But it will end up being a wrench/paint brush/keyboard, basically a tool that creatives will use to enhance and accelerate their creative process. The general population is enamored with the things that AI can produce for now, but like most fads, this too shall pass.

Drones popped up over the last 10 years as the bees-knees and many people went out and got them just to have some fun, so many in fact that all our wonderfully restrictive RC laws came about because of douchebags crashing drones into crowded areas. But nowadays they are most frequently used as tools to enhance jobs. Videographers are able to get shots for a couple hundred dollars that used to cost thousands of dollars in helicopter rentals. (Let alone the shots drones can get that heli's can't) People who work in forestry are able to block off sections of forest from logging using their drones equipped with thermals and LIDAR to help protect our wildlife more efficiently.

Are idiots always going to abuse the tools that professionals use? I think we all know the answer to that.

Sort:  

Hey @lacking! Sorry I hadn't replied before.. I tried but there seemed to be a problem with keychain. I reinstalled the extension and it worked but only for a bit and then stopped working again. Seems like it was fixed now 🙃

I agree that the fad will soon pass, and I think it's kinda like a shame that it will "take the edge off" from impressive art.. At least that's what I think, because it does things with so much detail that people will just be like bleh when they see a handmade one.

I feel that the anti-AI pushback is a lot stronger than digital photo/edit because in part it is kinda stealing others' art styles, don't you think? I feel like we are just venturing into a new era where things will be different.. very different. It does get kinda scary because there's people behind this and they are making a lot of money from training the models in existing art. In theory that money could be distributed between the artists, and I guess that's where it's unfair and terrible from that point of view, it's unfair and it is just giving more and more power and creating a wider economic gap between classes.

For sure it will become paintbrush/tool for artists. I personally am thrilled because I don't need to download images for when I need maybe backgrounds or textures and can create unique free ones also collages, video edits, animations will be greatly enhanced. I used to only use free content and that's limited but now I can just create to use it. On the other hand, it does kinda suck that for some people this will be their ENTIRE process instead of just a part of it or tool lol. In the art sense it can have a nice potential if the world gets filled with more art. Businesswise, the art offer will be so big that artists' work will be devalued - some will skyrocket though, for sure. It will be a cashgrab for many (already is).

I'm excited for the tech and advancements, but I'm also scared because you know there's really bad people out there. Judging by the way they are creating this "digital technocratic prison" and creating unelected groups of power, to me things look very grim. We could have a beautiful world with the help of AI but first we need to clear out the greed. Techno-communism (for lack of a better term) could be cool if we all have equal standing in decisions, in life, in the way the world works, but you know these people wouldn't allow this to happen. Hopefully AI will learn this all, and solve the problems that separate our species. Unlimited power (Tesla) could allow unlimited food, it's just a matter of if they allow it or not, we already have the means to feed and maybe even house everyone, only the will and burning of greed is missing.

Thank you very much for your support and reply 😋🙏