Splinterlands Art Contest || Lily Shieldpaw

in Alien Art Hivelast month

lily shieldpaw.png

I don't draw animals that much and If I remember correctly, the furious chicken is the only animal fanart I've done for this contest. It was difficult to just overlook this card as I scrolled the cards page of splinterlands so I decided to give it a try. This is for the splinterlands art contest week 285...

Lily Shieldpaw is red panda born in the forests of Anumun. She has the ability to extract the magic of dragons which she uses to heal wounds and hide the vulnerable. She and her best friends, the leopard cub and the giant Panda cub work together to protect others against darn forces. This powerful trio are a beacon of hope to the people and other creatures of Praetoria...

I actually love how goofy and carefree they look in the original card, the colours and composition are on point. I honestly did not know red pandas existed🙃 Well we learn everyday😊 I also want friends like hers, we'll do superhero stuff and have a cool house hehe....



PROCESS

I started with a sketch of how I wanted my characters to look, the red panda showing off her powers, the leopard cub looking cute and unbothered, the other holding a skull with a mean look. I laid all the flat colours for their body, the large tree bark, some grass, skull and painted their facial features..

1.png

2.png

3.png

4.png


Painting different facial expressions for all three of them was quite a challenge for me. I started the rendering with the tree as I did that from the start, then I moved to the red Panda and the other two which didn't take so much time. I enjoyed painting the spots on the leopard 🐆 The skull looked too simple so I added more details and made some adjustments on the main characters.

5.png

6.png

7.png

I finally painted the background and added the magical stuff emanating from the Pandas hands, I added more lighting where necessary and that's all...

lily shieldpaw.png
Overall, I love how it turned out and would definitely other creatures. That's all for now, have a wonderful day...

Tools Used
Adobe Photoshop
Huion drawing tablet and pen

Cheers🥂🍾

Sort:  

Trivia. Do you know that red pandas are not pandas at all?
hehehe.
Cute little cubs. The leopard cub is absolutely adorable.

Great work!

Oh I didn't know, but I questioned it though because they don't look like pandas at all

yup. Experts say, red pandas are more related to racoons than the panda bears

Not surprised, thanks for the info 👍

This turned out super awesome! Great job on the animals.

Thanks a lot