You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Even the best laid plans etc. etc...

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago

Thank You @castleberry for your consistently supportive insights and optimism! 🙏

I hope I didn't come across too discouraged? It was my intent to layout the timeline and then circle back to the concept of "not getting invested in the outcome." And if I failed in that it was, as I mentioned in a Tweet convo, that I just didn't take the time to fully construct and edit the post.

“I have only made this letter longer because I have not had the time to make it shorter.”
— Blaise Pascal

But... Upon reflection, I do see it contains what I would label, "Confusion and Frustration" as to what I am seeing sell on the NFT Platforms -vs- my experience over the past 30+ years as an Artist and 2x gallery owner...and most recently as a General Manager for 3 galleries here in Santa Fe. A city of only 120,000 people but 200+ galleries.

I guess it remains difficult for me to understand why NFT "Collectors" don't see what they are buying is just a snapshot run through a Prisma filter. Or a generic $5 3D model wrapped in a basic texture with flare lighting?

So yeah... I apparently have too much time, a B.F.A., and experience in the "Art World" in my 54 years and am having somewhat of a difficult time coming to terms with the next generation of...Art. 🤣