Sybarite feat. Tomb by VESHZA

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago (edited)

This is my first ever post on the HIVE blockchain! 😃

Sybarite-1080.jpg

TL;DR ➡ ➡ See and hear the final Artwork on NFT Showroom

This morning I tripped across a photo shoot my partner (@roxannedarling) and I did in January 2017, when we still lived on Maui. She had found this cool dreadlocks wig and we opened a bottle of wine, got naked, fired up the projector, and started taking photos... You know, like Artists do! 😉

I have 286 photos from that shoot. Here's the first one I played with this morning:

Sybarite-orig.jpg

Then a bit of clean up, some digital painting, and filters:

Sybarite-filter.jpg

I've been on a video-making kick lately and so I fired up Hyperspektiv and after a bit of experimenting with several of the custom filters I've created, I ended up with the final video you can play in the Twitter embed below.

I knew I wanted an audio/music bed and I've been looking for a reason to subscribe to ArtList.io so I can use fully licensed music in my work.
(PLEASE NOTE: 👆🏼👆🏼👆🏼 That is a referral link and if people click it and sign up, I get add'l free months added to my subscription!)

After buying my subscription, and doing a bit of searching, I found what I think is a perfect fit for the sensuous, swirly, undulating dance.

Then I had to find a title I liked. OneLook.com is always my first stop to look for unique words and titles for Artwork. After starting with a few key words, I quickly found my title:

"Sybarite"
syb•a•rite /ˈsibəˌrīt/ : a person who is self-indulgent in their fondness for sensuous luxury.

PERFECT!

Back to my iPhone to mix it all together and output a 4K .MOV file. Then I run that 500MB 4K MOV through Handbreak via a series of custom video profiles I've created specifically for social media and NFT work.

Next step was minting on @NFTShowroom:
https://nftshowroom.com/limn/gallery/limn_dreads_sybarite-feat-tomb-by-veshza

And then on to Twitter and the various Discord servers:

And finally here to post my very first Post on the HIVE blockchain! 😃

"Sybarite" is a step in a new direction for what I'm planning to share and mint on @NFTshowroom and other NFT platforms. Moving more into my portraits, self-portraits, figurative, and NSFW work...which is what I most enjoy doing!

If you've read this far...🙏🏼 🙏🏼 🙏🏼... and please LMK if you have any questions about the Artwork or apps/services mentioned.

And I hope "Sybarite" finds a 🧡💜💚💙🧡💛 home!!

Cheers,
-limn

Sort:  

Welcome to HIVE! Well, you have been on for a while and part of the NFT Showroom for a while but Congratulations on your first post! I am sure you will get your groove once you get some of the bells and whistles figured out. For a first post, this one was done really well. I bet that was a fun night! I wonder what the other 285 photos looked like! =)

Sybarite is a new word for me, and i love vocabulary, so thank you for the word of the day! That is an excellent title and i thought the music did go really well with the finished minted product! Looking forward to seeing more of your art. Thanks for sharing it here and i wish you all the best over in the ShowRoom! Nice start outta the gates!

Thanks so much for the awesome welcome and encouraging words!!
I've been a full stack developer for ~24 years and was hand coding large CMS back in 1996-97 in PERL and building "blogs" (we didn't call them that then) several years before Wordpress existed... But I don't consider myself a "blogger" or "writer" but I do enjoy sharing helpful details and resources and paying forward from the communities/writers that have helped me over the past 2 decades.

I already have several posts drafted which are attached to current and future minted artworks. Just not enough time in the day.

And also.... Growing up on a farm in Iowa, with no other Artists or creatives in sight, Bob Ross was/is one of my all time heroes! 🤩

Yes, i grew up watching Bob Ross and have always loved him. If you haven't seen it yet check out his biography documentary! I photoshopped (ms paint) my face into his afro for my profile pic here! hahaha

I would bet developing is a world of difference to writing and creating content for a blog. However, the art communities and the opportunity to engage with your art are pretty incredible. Having your tech background should make the learning curve a lot easier to manage as well. If this first post is a launching point for your 'blog' then i think you are going to do just fine on the blockchain! It takes a lot of people much longer to offer up a post of this quality level.

My main tip would be to have fun. Express yourself and the more you share of yourself, your art, and the process the more well-received you will be imho. It does take a while to get traction but a big mistake some folks make that create great art is to just post the art with not much info surrounding the content or process. In those cases, less isn't more. A little effort goes a long way. I can tell you put effort into what you do... so just keep up the great work and i think you are really going to like it here! Take care bro!

WOW!! Thanks for the all the kind words and encouragement! 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼
Thank you also for the Ross bio doc reminder. I added it to my "Watch Later" YT list some time ago and then completely forgot about it. I'll go ClipGrab it to watch tonight!

And.... 💙🤣💙🤣💙🤣 your avatar!

I have a B.F.A. in Ceramics, Sculpture, and Drawing (1991) but in 1983 (junior year high school) I taught myself B.A.S.I.C. on a Commodore 64...But I was drawing since very young. Then in 1996 founded one of the first Web Dev Agencies in the Southwest, which still exists today (in a different name/format) of our current company, Bare Feet Studios LLC.

So the Computers & Art have always been intertwined and I don't see a difference between them... They are both about problem solving, constant learning and experimenting, and fixing mistakes. 😉

In terms of the blogging & writing, being able to comment your code is an "art" in itself and the best developers also tend to be good commenters and writers.

I just posted my 2nd entry and I'm developing a "structure and syntax" for the posts to make them more consistent, informative, and faster to produce: https://peakd.com/hive-156509/@limn/skipping-jae

Thanks again for the amazing support!! 😃