Re-Introduction Post! What is Hive? Baby, don't hurt me...

in Alien Art Hive5 months ago (edited)

Hello!

It has been a long time, yet again, since my last post, and I've been sitting here wondering how exactly to start.

Power_sm_.jpg
"Power" - Part of my "The First" collection, and my profile picture since 2022

The thing is - I'd like to return to blogging here again and actually stick to it. I didn't last time because I thought of it as A Great Return and wasn't able to commit.

So, to avoid that, I'm asking you, and myself:

What is Hive to you?
How do you use it?
How many times a week do you post?
Is it still more or less like it was back in the old days... "All about community!" ...?
If so, should I join one, or start a new one?

For now, I'm going to take a relaxed approach and treat it as a sort of informal public diary, with a focus on my creative work, which is generative art at the moment. Before I get into that though, let me introduce myself briefly, since probably most of you won't know who I am or remember me very well.

My name is Jody. I'm a digital artist, having mainly used fractals in the past to create all my art. I have a "History" page on my website which goes into detail if you're interested. In 2022 I briefly got into using A.I. - and if you check my recent reblogs, you'll find posts by "Cryptoyevsky" which is actually also me, posting about that work =) And then, beginning last year (2023) in February, I got back into programming and started making art with code!

The exclamation is because I'm really excited to be doing this. I always had a love-hate relationship with programming, but with using it to create art, the hate part has dissipated. I enjoy it SO MUCH.

I've done four generative projects so far, which I'll get into in the next few posts, because otherwise this one will lengthen beyond what I think most people are willing to give their time to... ;P

eyeamfromsite.gif

For now, I'll leave you with the above gif of one iteration of ℈ℽ⍷-ᚤက, my first collection, as well as the following first part of the page:

℈ℽ⍷-ᚤက is about identity; both individual identity as well as our collective identity as a species.

Since the very beginning, human beings have been fascinated by the world around them. We have tried to understand it, our place in it, and ourselves.

In this process, faced with chaotic complexity and forces we couldn't comprehend, we gave significance to otherwise meaningless events, and created a meaningful world for ourselves within the greater unfathomable universe.

Things do not have names, nor exist in inherent categories. Humans are responsible for these... We are the inventors of meaning.

With this in mind, I present my own creation: ℈ℽ⍷-ᚤက


There's a lot more to know about it, so click here and leave the page open in a new tab for when you have time to grab a coffee and read all about it properly =)

That's it for now! Thanks for reading and please reply so I know you're there and I'll check your latest few posts too =)


Twitter | Instagram | Website

Sort:  

What is Hive to you?

My dream job.

How do you use it?

I mostly post splinterlands related content. But I also sometimes post my Let's plays or my book.

How many times a week do you post?

I post daily at least one post. I aim for two posts a day but sometimes I fail at achieving this goal.

Is it still more or less like it was back in the old days... "All about community!" ...?
If so, should I join one, or start a new one?

Yes. Since you are an artist I would really recommend to participate in splinterlands art contest.

Hello! I think I remember your nickname from years ago =) Thank you for answering the questions. I'm looking forward to getting back into everything. I also used to post Let's Plays, besides my art and writing. Daily postings is quite the mission! I remember doing 3-4 a week and it was challenging. Depends what you're doing, I suppose.

Aahh yes, so happy to know that Splinterlands is still around. I had a bunch of early cards, the very first sets to be issued, but gave them to a guy called Bug, who promised to make a lot of money with them (combining them with his own cards) and then pay me for them (1 card had a market price of 12k$) or else give me my cards back .. But that was at the end of 2021, and the crypto crashed, so didn't get paid... I should track him down to see if I can at least get the cards back.

I think I remember your nickname as well. Were you on Whaleshares as well? Daily posting is definitely not easy. So if you can start with 3-4 posts a week that would be awesome as well.

It's a shame that you no longer have your cards. I hope that you can get them back.

Welcome back to Hive from a fellow fractal artist!
nested nasturtium 1.png

  1. What is Hive? A home for me as a multi-creative artist
  2. How do you use it? I post my writing, art, and sometimes music
  3. How often do I post? Seven days a week
  4. Yes, it is still all about community -- I am in several, and nourishing them for what they are is wonderful training for learning how to nourish a niche audience
  5. As I do in my own book on crypto, I encourage everyone: pick a community and be faithful to it ... choose a posting schedule, and get to know fellow authors ... and then pick another and repeat!

Hello there =) Always nice to meet a fellow fractnaut! ^-^ Another daily poster... Wow... I don't think I could keep up with a pace like that. I'll aim for 1-2 a week for now. So much going on these days. Thank you for the advice about the communities! Will have to keep an eye out to find one I'm happy in.

1-2 a week is cool too -- whatever the timing is that works for you!