Post-Glitch Art

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago (edited)

Hello #HIVE folks and artists!

Been doing art on a regular basis since now over 10 years (stopped for 9 years after I graduated from university) and what brought me back to art was those computer errors now famously known as Glitch Art. Back in 2011, creating glitch art was very primitive and raw, I remember most artists (there weren't many at the time) would take a screenshot of a random glitch they've created and that was it. So pure, so accidental!

Fast forward 5,6,7... 10 years later and the market is flooded with glitch art inspired visuals: video games, movie trailers, vlogs, etc. Glitches are used as a way of visual transition and are now part of the aesthetic language. That is without mentioning all the phone apps that surfaced on both Android and iOS, making Glitch Art even more accessible.

So where am I going with this...? Well, as a Glitch artist formerly, I want to evolve with my art and continue to find new interesting methods and composition styles that pushes the glitch aesthetic.

About 3 years ago I came up with this idea which probably was some subconscious link to Vaporwave. I tried to deconstruct my glitch images and build collages out of them while adding all sorts of internet related "spam", which I simply called Splitch Art. Here's a some examples:

Clickbait 2.JPG

Clickbait 4.JPG

Russia 21.jpg

Looking forward to maybe mint some of these pieces but will see how it goes as this is my first foray in the NFT world :)

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Welcome to Hive and welcome to the community!