You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AT WHAT POINT DOES MY ART CEASE TO BE MY OWN?

Interestingly, my daughter is doing creative arts at the moment for her SACE (highschool certificate) and the subject of street art came up. Apparently, because it is public domain, you can find way to make money forum other people's street art, which I find a bit of a moral grey area. I'm guessing you can't claim it as your own, though.

There seems to be a real range of opinions as to what is acceptable on Hive, though. I think each art community has their own particular guidelines. Personally, as long as you're honest about whether your work is adding onto something else, I think you can be credited for your own creativity on it. I'm sure others would disagree, though.

Sort:  

I often take photos of people in the street and then edit them and post them online. I know a lot of artists think that is barely any more artistic than taking selfies, but I like doing it and think it's cool being able to use modern technology to make instant art. But if stuff like that is considered too lowbrow I can easily not do those sorts of posts. Just testing the waters here!

image.png

Yet photography is also an art form. 🤔

@trucklife-family often edits her photos for posts in a similar way to this. Although she doesn't do them as stand alone posts, they are certainly eye catching.

I'm planning to do a post of pictures of people using cell phones soon!

image.png

They look like they're all walking on a giant mattress! 😁

It's a street in town - Chews Lane - with cobblestones - I often take photos there - people look more interesting there for some reason

image.png