A fractal made in lock-down, the Stars are -almost- Right!

Hello, it's nice to post again after such a long time.

This unprecedented COVID19 situation has locked me in home, working remotely, so there is much more time available for things that I could not previously spend time on.

And yes, one of these things is my beloved fractals (one other is tracing non-euclidean shapes on the walls - while active, this makes time work differently...)

So, it took me some time to get the grasp of JWildFire (the app I use for fractals) again, but it was like riding the bicycle: you never really forget how to do it. Perhaps I am bit rusty still, but the rust will soon go away!

So, here is my first lockdown-fractal:

VIRUS cover 750x750.jpg

Infection

by @nyarlathotep
A fractal made in JWildFire


Now that I see it in a blog post, it reminds me of a LP-cover, maybe of some death-metal band. I am no graphic artist, but here is an attempt I made in PaintBrush. I wish someone with better skill worked this over, and added some nice, creepy, occult font with many spikes and webs and tentacles, and a proper album title:

VIRUS cover 2.jpg

I also made some variations, but I had no time to render them properly. Here is a quick draft of a darker, bleaker version:

VIRUS v2.png


Keep yourselves safe and locked-down, the Stars are -almost- Right!

Sort:  

Wow! a real post! The corners of your home is definitely moving in the right angles.

I have plastered all corners into roundness a long time ago... they travel through corners, you know...

Yes... ... the's how they came here :) :D >D he ... HEHE AHAHAHAHAHHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHHHAHHAHAAAHAHAHAHA!

I mean... that's what I heard?

"infection" is a good descriptor, this has the feel of a creeping sickness spreading across swamp water, oozing from the buried corpse of a not-quite-dead-entity deep in the muck. Nice to see you posting again!

Heh, spot on - that was exactly what I had in mind with this fractal!

 4 years ago  

This is so pretty and fragile looking :)

Thanks -- but, you know, if this fragile thing breaks, an infinite number of new ones take its place! The beauty of never-ending fractals.

What a beautifully deadly thing that is! One of the loveliest fractals I have ever seen!

Hey, i'm glad you like it, thank you. An interesting fact is that there is no post-processing at all, everything is made in the fractal application "JWildFire".

That is interesting -- Apophysis is a simpler program, but I don't post-process in it either unless I want I different color of background, which is rare. The fractals themselves are enough!

I was explaining this to an admirer of my extended walkthrough of "Beautifully Deadly" -- the ability to work with fractal programs is like having an exceedingly strong arm and millions of paintbrushes, each brush iterating a single line and motion into the texture of a brush stroke, and then iterating brush stroke upon brush stroke millions and billions of times. Not much needs to be added to as profound a process as that!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here