The Overlords Helmet -- a Tokenized artwork

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago

The Overlords Helmet

My latest tokenized artwork was inspired by a series of factors that culminated to give me the idea of a floating helmet belonging to an Overlord-type character.

The inspirations were:

Give it a listen while you read 😉

  • Saurons helmet from Lord of the Rings

Seriously... you've gotta love this guy:

image.png

These were the ORIGINAL minions !

image.png


Anyway, let's get to the actual artwork creation process, before I get too distracted, shall we ?

1. Flame Painter 4 Graphic Tablet drawing

I spent some time just randomly playing with flame painter 4, using my graphics tablet and the in-built symmetry options (and brushes... god I love those brushes) to work out a "base" for the artwork:

Blank canvas to start with
Flame_Painter_4_1LD9ErpFnT.png

Not quite what I'm looking for:

Flame_Painter_4_iOBYcD321J.png

This one is more promising !
Flame_Painter_4_Iup42laU5n.png

Looots of brushes !

Flame_Painter_4_la9tw1igKC.jpg

Flame_Painter_4_B03pW6Ie1Q.jpg

2. GIMP, for kaleidoscopic goodness !

After I made the base, I imported it into GIMP to have some fun with it's filters, and to see if there was a better pattern to be found somewhere within the symmetry.

gimp2.10_mFCn78bdRT.png

Maybe something up here ?

gimp2.10_GIYiLYOpyR.jpg

gimp2.10_tGL8RjsvZv.jpg

Now we're talking !
wuPGLEYmES.jpg

Sadly, as I've come to notice, quite often the preview of a filter will look better than when the filter is actually applied !

no2WD6TiZF.jpg

Gah... clearly the above is WAY too small, it looks nothing like the preview !

Others might expect filters to show a low quality preview, but I prefer if the preview matches the end result as closely as possible, as it's the feeling the image brings, not it's relative quality level it comes out at, that gives me the basis for my work !

So... I took a screenshot of the preview and imported it back into GIMP 😈

Nothing shall stop me !

0ZHUqVYKgY.jpg

Now to see what can be done with it...

vXER57RKJO.jpg

Manipulating the 'sides' with a few other filters brought an interesting molten aspect to the colors, but it wasn't quite enough for me.

So, I took once again to my trusty steed the Kaleidoscope Plugin

And lo and behold, something quite interesting can be seen deep in the pattern now !

gimp2.10_VnLkMTdFkb.jpg

Let's get closer, and remove a bit of the excess noise to the sides:
gimp2.10_sBeCJQnghX.png

gimp2.10_kDByUeGxRu.png

The eye was created by making an oval selection, inverting the color, then shrinking the selection, inverting it again (but by another kind of inversion, to keep it interesting), etc.

gimp2.10_k4Pm5jqW2b.png

gimp2.10_Z944GB5MIg.png

I also drew some 'horns' by smudging the sides of the helmet out and upwards ^

Then, I used the Anguish filter to darken the colors immensely, giving it the correct vibe for what I was planning :
LvyLLVRcWX.png

And started manipulating the colors to make distinct frames:

GmCbhxFevI.png

lEukAp5vjp.png

05cj3IQjKg.png

After than, it was just a question of creating the animation, optimizing it and converting it to 128 colors so it could be made into a proper GIF, and voilà :

The Overlords Helmet


So... what do you think, Alien Art Hive ?

Is it Alien enough to be in this group ? 👽

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Thanks for posting, I love seeing your process, I see you were inspired by avastars, I've heard of them but i don't really understand what they are...

Loading...

Wow! You've been busy with your art. Have you any time left over to join my new game? It's a little different than the past games and might be more interesting for you.

I'll have to give it a look.

Been a while since I've been very active here on Hive, so trying to get into posting semi-regularly again.

technically I have 4 to 6 artworks with process shots that could be turned into articles here, but I got to find the time for it !

Yea, Spring-time has been extremely busy for me... I hardly get enough sleep. Too many things I want and need to do.

"Congratulations bock on yer promotion!" 😉 -Keptin

C-Slane-5.jpg