Burn it! - Dragonfish Supercharged

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago

For many month I have been all consumed with working on two large (door sized) commissioned paintings. A real dream job! When I am focused on painting like that, everything else gets a bit neglected. Like the back yard, which finally got some attention and rewarded us with baskets full of apples, berries and fresh vegetables.

Oh, and yes... mostly disappeared online too again. Back now, to grow my digital portfolio with mostly animated NFTs. Here my newest piece "Dragonfish":

drachenfischhd.jpg

It is based on a traditional oil painting I made for a group show with the artist group "Libellule", themed "Phoenix and Dragon". Ok... my interpretation is a bit far fetched, I admit. But Dragon fish actually do exist and I just made it spit some fire. Like a dragon. Sort of...

My wife modelled for the hand, which holds the fire spitting cyborg being in the original painting:

fisch.jpg

The original painting is on a round board and so I wanted to keep this element of roundness in my digital version. For that I created a frame, with a round cut-out.

drachenfisch02 2hd.jpg

In Photoshop I separated the fish from the background. Since there was going to be some movement added to the fish, I had to fill in the space behind it. Then I added a color overlay, to give it a more under water look.

drachenfisch05hd.jpg

The idea for the animation was, to reveal the main image with an opening aperture. First it took some experimenting to find the right number and shape for the moving pieces.

drachenfisch02 1hd Kopie.jpg

In Illustrator I designed the pattern, that I wanted on the moving parts of the aperture and my logo, which appears in the beginning and the end in the centre of the image.


logohd Kopie.jpg


Once I had all my individual parts, I put it all together in AfterEffects. One of the biggest challenges for me was to find a way, to not only have the aperture open and close properly, but also rotate throughout the whole animation. To get a realistic flame coming out of the blowtorch, I used a very light yellow triangle and made three versions of it with different amounts of blur. In AfterEffects I placed them on top of each other and moved them at different speeds (dark background added for visibility).

flamme1.gif

The background seemed incomplete, so I added some water ripple effects.

For the soundtrack, I used sound files I purchased from Soundsnap, combined with audio created in Garageband.

Finally combined in my visual story of the Dragonfish:

https://makersplace.com/reinhardschmid/dragonfish-1-of-1-31417/#


I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your support.

My tokenized collectible art at
MakersPlace and SuperRare

Cross posted to my cent account

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I saw this on twitter earlier, love it! I LOVE this color combination of red and teal/green!

Thank you so much, glad you like this!

pretty cool!

Thank you :-)

amazing

Thanks you, that means a lot to me :-)🚀

Very, very nice!

Thanks a lot!

About time! I wonder what happened to you - thought maybe Corona bit you in the butt!
Upvoted, reposted and tweeted:
also on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/artofthemysticottorapp/posts/10158623700164328:76

 4 years ago (edited) 

Hatte ein paar gute Aufträge... da muss man leider woanders etwas zurückstecken ;-)

Alles klar, hab ich eh gleich verstanden. Selbst war ich nicht so im Studio engagiert, erst letztlich wieder.

Wollte mal "Hallo" winken. Lang nichts mehr von dir gehört.
Wie geht es dir? Es scheint, du hattest gut zu tun?

Liebe Grüße aus Hamburg

Hey, schön von Dir zu hören, ich denk oft an Dich 😎
Wir könnten ja mal wieder auf discord "treffen"

Wow SUPER COOL 😀

Thank you :-)

The tiny cog/mechanism! Your work is always amazing!

How nice of you to see these little details, thank you! Wow... lots to discover on your blog. Been gone too long again´.

Well I am glad to have found you on Hive once again!

Hurrah! I am so happy to see you back @reinhard-schmid I have thought of you often during these odd 'new normal' times and hoped you and your lovely wife were well. I see now, that you were and also wonderfully creative!

Oh and my cent handle is same as here donnadavisart !

I've not a clue what cent is, but I followed the link and joined! Though not sure I posted it correctly as I tried imbeding my latest video, but not sure it worked, do you like that platform? So many platforms.

I'm trying to get into a normal schedule again, but adding video making has certainly made it harder, rather than easier, but what is life if not full of fun complications, eh?

This piece is SO amazing! The amount of work in the animation makes it truly wonderful. I've started a piece just for the digital Crypto realm, but I've not thought of animating it. I wonder, should they be animated? Hmmm, one more thing on the list?

I hope to see you about here more and so happy to have you back!

Amazing, I really liked this job, also the way you describe the processes. Happy day

Cool fish here, I don't know why it remembers me to Umbrella Academy? 😎😃

wow, super cool!

@tipu curate

Thank you :-)