"Often Uncertain... (Slivers...)" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

For anyone wondering where "Holy Fool" comes from, there exists a cheesy, over-the-top, bizarre, Shaw Brothers' kung-fu film (released in 1981) called Shaolin Prince (the old VHS copy I had was titled Deathmask of the Ninja, even though it had no deathmasks NOR any ninjas in it!!!), and in this film, there are three monks who are SOOOO hardcore, so unbelievably bad-ass, that they've become mischievous pranksters banished to a small house that they are never allowed to leave because of the chaos they cause....and that's what I aspire to be!

Next item to consider...an automatic drawing. All digital. The point is mostly the color contrasts and the subconscious poetics of the randomly derived "freestyle" words. It's all about juxtaposition...

My anxiety levels have been pretty high lately (not surprising considering...), so I'm trying to work thru this stress and uncertainty and discomfort with my art and writing and reading... IS IT WORKING?

A bit...but the world is pretty shit right now, so the headache is fairly constant. At least I can sleep in tomorrow!

One of my primary exercises today was a freewrite. No time limit, just four pages of writing and scribbles. [Once it was done, I photographed the pages and digitally embellished them to help increase readability.]






One of the interesting things about anxiety is that talking about it, describing it, getting it OUT, can help dispell it---to a certain degree. Right now, FIRE is a serious concern as so much of the area around us is burning. The air is thick with smoke and ash... As a literature guy, I have a hard time not seeing this as metaphorical...

Still, I write what's on my mind. The MORE I write, the less I'll need to focus on this immediate junk, and the more I'll be able to dig deeper---maybe to the layer of poetry or even fiction... But those are difficult to write on GOOD days, and the world seems shy of good days lately---although I and my family are a lot better off than many folks, and I certainly don't take that for granted. We are lucky in many ways, and if there is a trickster god out there, I'm glad that he/she/it/they are taking it easy on US.

HOPEFULLY, better days are ahead!!! (Robert Smith FINALLY finished the new CURE album, so we've got that to look forward to, at the very least! And that ain't nothin'!!!!)

---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

Posted using Dapplr