Blockchain's Future, Cryptoartists, NFTs and More


This interview was conducted in advance of the Instagram Live on October 15, 2022. Get in touch with the founder of Fresh Breath Africa here on Hive @globalfuturistic


How did you become a cryptoartist?

In 2018 I worked together with @juliakponsford from Canada in a social media company, and this is how I came into contact with digital art in general. She helped to build up the marketplace @nftshowroom from the ground and founded the @alienarthive collective. We reconnected a few years later during Covid lockdowns and I actually started as a collector. Immersing myself into one of my first collected pieces had a huge impact on my life, to keep my mental sanity when everyone was paralyzed. I was creating my own world by watching for hours the Musician in the Space and loop-listening to Jacob Gurevitsch and whatever helped me for my mental cinema and imagination. Soon I became active and created my first few pieces, I was very proud when my first piece of my Public Pleasures Vienna collection sold with the help of the Wilder brothers Phoenix and Frank. I think they influenced it by commenting and encouraging me on twitter. I was once joking that everything else during my cryptoartistic career sold more than my actual artworks, ranging from workshops, explanatory blogposts, invitations for talks, presentations and merchandise. I tried opensea which is the biggest marketplace once by trying to create an artistic persona hivedevil but it didn’t work out as I could never warm up with the communities there. I also was in an incredibly long conversation with the former management of Makersplace but this marketplace turned out to be a huge disappointment for me. So yeah, NFT Showroom became my homebase.

Why sciencevienna?

My art is very research-intensive! Apart from the emotional work happening in the background a lot of research and review work is done for positioning myself in the field. Be it deep diving into research of PFP NFTs and testing this in social media practice with my communities, clients and potential collectors, or about network science which helps a lot in identify funding structures. My last NFT “Black Mascara” for this year is based on Raye’s recent music video, after she left her record label. My piece is also a continuation of one of my bigger pieces “Godzilliqa” which also started out as my first auction 11 months ago. Some might call my style in sense of a patchwork carpet but it’s definitely full of crypto symbolism probably a trader will better understand than an art lover with university degree going to museums. It’s a lot about how my portrait representations make you feel and I’m really not trying to win hearts with shallow animal portraits or alike here but rather to relieve myself even if I have to provoke with it. My art is challenging. Luckily, I will be able to finish it on commission basis with full artistic freedom, but of course I’m restricted to the artificial intelligence I’m cooperating with for the very first time. There was a huge outcry on twitter already, that AI will kill creativity, but I still disagree. It just shows that people have a very limited understanding for the profession and realities an artist faces. We have limited resources and we have constraints as well. All the consideration regarding edition pricing are topics I still have not concerned myself after I'm planning on publishing a promotion video and during my actual minting in the next 2 months.

What makes art on blockchain different?

I think this is the natural process of evolution. In the past when we shared our work we often said: “Hey guys my paper/book is now available online”. Today we say “onchain”. We want to thrive with relatively few middlemen, we want to interact with our collectors as directly as possible. Many young collectors are intimidated by the historically grown institutionalizations and bureaucracy and somehow overlooked in the acquisition process. The traditional art world doesn’t do anything to educate and cater to budding collectors who can’t afford to spend more than €1,000 or €2,000. With crypto and one of its new instruments like fractionalization more possibilities came up. The different aesthetics and stakeholders aside, we build on the transition from web2 to web3. I profit a lot from my main profession as consultant as I’m knowledgeable of the technicalities, to know that the phrase “on the blockchain” is imprecise or I know what ownership actually means or where the reference point is pointing to if we say “onchain”. We need to understand where we’re coming from, which is web2 and a lot of projects are still centralized. I’m not taking up the cudgels for decentralization here, but for the future generations of cryptoartists that will have to fight for their hopefully better working conditions. Decentralization has its disadvantages as well and one can find a lot of counterarguments against Bitcoin but the fact that it’s here gives us one option more that was not there before. In short: Crypto, NFTs and a whole new art world will not disappear.

mirrored.png

Short CV
Alex gained practical experience in science management and research funding ultimately leading him to become founder of the Entrepreneurial Ecosystem sciencevienna.crypto. He is active in advisory and lead consultant roles, obtained certificates on digital currencies and decentralized finance (DeFi) from the University of Nicosia, was member of the Viennese Academy of Data Science in Finance and has a strong background in blockchain based social media with its governance mechanisms. Since November 2018 he is partner of legaltech Coopérative Kleros, since December 2020 cryptoartist at NFT Showroom. He joined Volt Europa in 2021 by founding the DAO Crypto Devs and the working group EUR Biostasis, co-authoring and initiating several policies in field of economy innovation, future industries, security/defense and social equality.
*

2022-01-08.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @sciencevienna ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Fantastic!!!

🙏🏻🙏🏻

Dear @sciencevienna,
Your support for the current Hive Authentication Services proposal (#194) is much appreciated but it will expire in a few days!
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Done! Why isn't a notification system in place for expiring witness votes? 😅

Thank you for your support @sciencevienna, really appreciate it! 👍
Governance votes do not expire unless you do not perform any governance actions (like witness vote, proposal support, ...) for 1 year
I think Peakd team has implemented such reminders on their front end.

Yeah this is what I meant, never received witness reminder after 1 year, does it actively need to be looked up?

If you perform governance actions from time to time then no need to worry 😉

Congratulations @sciencevienna! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 2000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

World Cup Contest - New Sponsor and Prizes - dCrops adds 30000 CROP and 300 NFTs
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - New Sponsor - 50000 Ecency Points added to the prize pool!
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Collect badges and win prizes - More than 4500 HIVE to win