Grum Flameblade | My entry for Splinterlands social media challenge!

in Alien Art Hive10 months ago

Splinterlands Social Media Challenge!

Hello guys, how's everyone doing? I hope you guys have a nice day. In my place it's raining heavily so it's very cold. I just want to curl up on my bed and sleep in this weather but it's Wednesday so it's time for a new entry for this week's Splinterlands Social Media Challenge. I decided to draw Grum Flameblade for this week's blog. My idea was to paint him with the primary colours red green and blue. That's why I chose this card this time. I hope you guys like what I did with the character.

Grum Flameblade

Untitled31_20230705215855.png

The Process...

IMG20230704193640.jpg

Untitled31_20230704201459.png

Untitled31_20230705143718.png

Untitled31_20230705145951.png

Untitled31_20230705151700.png

Untitled31_20230705160224.png

Untitled31_20230705162304.png

Untitled31_20230705172129.png

Untitled31_20230705173836.png

Untitled31_20230705181003.png

As usual I searched for pose reference for this guy. His character design is very similar to that of hulk so my initial thought was to use him as pose reference for this guy but later on I found another guy with similar physique. He is Nappa from Dragon ball if you don't know. His is very buff but not that buff like Grum so I made changes on certain parts to make it look like Grum. Once I was done sketching the pose on my notebook I made clean lineart on my Ibis app. This was one of those rare occurrences were anatomy errors were quite low XD. I was thankful for that so I made lineart yesterday and painted it today.

I had doubts about his green colour though. I don't remember painting any character in this colour. At first I thought the painting is gonna be rubbish. Even after painting shadow colour with respect to the source of light I had my doubts. So I decided that it's best to add the red glow now because if it looks good then I can proceed with confidence. Turns out it did look good with the red glow because of the complimentary property. After that I made some adjustments to the intensity of the shadow colours to compensate the intensity of the light source. I use a 3% Gaussian blur on the edges now to make it look soft these days. Its working for me so I decided to keep using it.

I made some changes on his clothes here. He has grey pants in his original design but I decided to ditch it to increase the total green colour percentage in the painting. Also this gives him more of a tribal look. I liked it so I kept it that way. I decided that glow should be on his hand this time and that's why I chose this pose from Nappa. Thr yellow gauntlet was waiting for me to add fire in it because the central source of a flame is either yellow or white or a combo of both. Now adding glow there was easy but shading the gauntlet was tough XD. Thankfully I recently saw an image with hand glow on Pinterest so I painted it in that style here. On the other hand I painted the sword with some extras like the shine.

The most important part as usual was adding the highlights and also trim light this time. I painted blue light on right because red and blue are complimentary. I made sure that I added some extra glow with airbrush on highlights as well to make it look a bit more shiny. Finally I made the background with some new brushes I found in my Ibis app. I made them in overlay mode because I don't want the attention of the viewer to reach that side. Painted a moon as well because the sky looked empty, blurred the background and the work was finished.


Splinterlands

To discover the captivating characters of Splinterlands, visit their official website for detailed insights into the game. If you're interested in a specific card, you can follow the provided link to explore its attributes and additional information.


Official Design

Grum Flameblade.png

Result

Untitled31_20230705215855.png


Tools used: Ibis paint x Notebook and Pencil

Duration:6hrs

Pose reference


Thank you so much for your time 😊

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks for sharing! - @yonilkar

This is beyond than amazing.

So happy to hear that 😊. Thanks for the curation bro 🤩

Fantastic! The moon is a really nice touch, like a cherry on top. And the blue side glow turned out perfect 😁.

Had to add it. The sky looked empty without it hehe.

Thanks Ema 🤩

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Cartoonist a really amazing character. I especially loved the blue lines, they are like a neon color, they look really cool. And also the details of the fire are good. You took the letter and although it looks good to the original you implemented a style, which to be honest, It suits the character better. Good job, greetings!

Thanks for your feedback ☺️

I had doubts about his green colour though. I don't remember painting any character in this colour.

It's like a buff Vruz 😆

You're early! Awesome as always!

!PIZZA

Early? I post on Wednesday evening for this challenge.

Thanks jiji

Oohh I thought it was for the other week 😆 my bad 😆😆

I post that on Saturday evening 😊.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jijisaurart(4/5) tipped @solumviz

Wait.. 🧐 you still make sketch on paper when you already have a tablet?
Awesome art again btw 🙇‍♀️

Yeah I do because ibis paint app has latency so lineart drawn with my usual speed will look weird.