Sort:  

Yes, that's interesting. It is a thought that are sported in many fantasy and scifi books - that the Gods live on belief, that they feed from us devotion.

Contrary to that is the fear of God and Gods that existed before. No motive analysis back then :)

Susutzi is ancient in that regard. As is the horror nightmares. Primal fear.

P.S. I love Gaiman's books too.

I'm gradually working through the Sandman books and various gods appear there. We just watched the spin-off Dead Boy Detectives where a couple of the Endless pop up. Gaiman has obviously studied the various religions and myths deeply. I like that you are creating your own mythologies.

I share that interest with Gaiman, no doubt about that. Religion and mythology is like any other speculation about the world a source to understanding humans. We are a strange bunch! I think that is why I also do this experiment. To examine my own limitations and borders, consciousness and cognitions.

And thank you. I am really happy about all the comments I am getting here. It makes it more interesting.