BACKLANE SERENADE - DEEP DREAM

BACKLANE SERENADE - DEEP DREAM

a alien and psychedelic excursion of my drawing

Back in January 2018 I had posted my drawing BACKLANE SERENADE on Bescouted (which at that time was connected to Steemit). The story behind this drawing I explain further down - below I show 3 versions of what I did with it while in Corona lockdown at New Years - but also trying a way to bring this piece up front and center on Hive again, without repeating an old posting. I am following an idea that @ammonite had reposting some of his previous steemit posts, but then I thought I should also bring in some new content, and since I am also very much into Deep Dream (whenever I am not in the studio), I gave it a try to see how the different modes work for it. The three best ones I show here.

BACKLANE SERENADE DEEP DREAM neural medium res.jpg
transformed using the Deep Dream neural mode

BACKLANE SERENADE DEEP DREAM psychedelic medium res.jpg
transformed using a old psychedelic drawing of mine as the mode

BACKLANE SERENADE DEEP DREAM medium res.jpg
transformed using my self-portrait painting as the mode

Now to the original drawing of BACKLANE SERENADE

07810015ps2266psiWEB.jpg
BACKLANE SERENADE - graphite drawing on Arches etching paper - 1986 - 48 cm x 65 cm

At the Center is a portrait of Austrian artist Arik Brauer and his wife Naomi.
The seedy back lane is from a photo I took in a wintery Lethbridge, Canada. Other parts are details from a front street façade, same place, and some details from a Rudolf Hausner lithograph. The other part is a detail I call "Behind the 8-Ball", influenced by Franz Xaver Messerschmidt.

This was one of a series of drawings I did as a tribute to The Vienna School of Fantastic Realism. At that time I lived in Canada, underscoring the origins of my Viennese heritage.

The drawing is decades old - and unfortunately it got ripped off in the early nineties. The image looks OK (after digitally reconstructing it from a poor scan of a analog photo), but not really ideal for printing in original size. I wish I had a good scan. I am almost thinking I should paint it! It has been on my to-do list for quite some time. If I do, things will change, because I hate repeating myself, but central elements would be retained. Also, each medium has its own way, and what can be done in drawing does not translate well into painting; I am talking about certain techniques used.

Some details from the drawing

BACKLANE SERENADE 002detail3web.jpg

BACKLANE SERENADE 002detail1web.jpg

BACKLANE SERENADE 002detail2web.jpg


on my website - on DeviantArt - on Pixels



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG

POPEYE CRADLE.gif


If you find this useful, please repost!

MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK