OF DRUIDS AND ELVES

“It's easy to believe in magic when you're young. Anything you couldn't explain was magic then. It didn't matter if it was science or a fairy tale. Electricity and elves were both infinitely mysterious and equally possible - elves probably more so.”
Charles de Lint


Recently a artist friend 'adopted' one of my often used prompts and, as I suggested, changed only a few things in the wording and added his own modifiers. Like me, he uses Deep Dream Text2Dream and Nightcafe. His results were impressive, depicting old gnarled Druids in the woods. So I decided to try my own version, again changing a few things here and there. On both platforms I used the same prompt, but with varying Model Styles, input image and prompt strengths.
Here is one result on Deep Dream - prompt only, in Artistic Mode

DRUID OF WILDWOOD
DRUID OF WILDWOOD - DEEP DREAM - zhredb_0d44a34fbd4e7d5e915d692c8964509a1e099e1d.jpg

This was the basic prompt I used, with only slight variations, for any other iterations that follow (exchanging old druid for elf):
Steampunk, crepuscular old druid in dark mossy forest, stop motion photography by H.R. Giger, by Giuseppe Arcimboldo , Hieronymus Bosch, Art Nouveau, intricately detailed, hyperrealism, fantasy, digital art, Alphonse Mucha deep color art Nouveau mandelbrot CGSociety volumetric lighting


Same prompt, again, no seed image used, on Nightcafe, in SDXL 1.0 Mode

STEAMPUNK CREPUSCULAR DRUID

DRUID NIGHTCAFE - text only - 2QvAxgwLJuou1Bq8QxD8--1--ni3bw.jpg


A interesting transformation takes place (as mentioned above) when you change a couple of words in your prompt, but even without changing words, if you 'overcook' a seed image, as was the case with this one below, you get something entirely different - no grumpy old man, but a feminine elf! This one was done in Deep Dream Text2Dream

CRYPTID FOREST ELF

CRYPTID FOREST ELF - DEEP DREAM - xnbtra_9092d7a6660aff9e3593de60bbcb82912142be86.jpg

The result startled me, in the description I wrote (I had used a selfie as the seed image):
Once I 'overcooked' my selfie at 90% there is no turning back. But this third attempt at 60% in Artistic mode has a certain charm, though not an old guy, but a a rather cryptid looking elfin character.

I liked that result so much, I used it as a seed image on Nightcafe, where I ran it as a series in different models, but the best one right away on my first try with SDXL 1.0:

DRUID FAIRIE 1

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE -Mwbo4sSzibq5wZyYmthq--1--ab2qp.jpg

Here are a variety of results I got with the prompt altered to Elf
all done now on Nightcafe in different modes:


DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - 0nqOHMNfFbtv2fUWt7BH--1--gtxwv.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - A6DH276Ak7XXYNXd0XvO--1--nx8nt.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - aZH716dVkWw70orHYrom--1--mcauy.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - EaOUO1w7BEpe8iDK2YdP--1--l8hhe.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - m1gMwbXpCs1l3yGvk0ic--1--ak62g.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE - n4pYOtuoAZB9BdwfxfMs--1--mgw4m.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - 2sk0OomeDNfTKAO9u8gb--1--17px3.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - 94aWVbQ0yOylOxtZYPti--1--isqoh.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - dVNFzEVuaGc6l60rjQUW--1--7zuog.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - dy2VokkGxDlNOQjMOqoa--1--rw4a7.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - xyDY7TFqNFMUYqfgSyzQ--1--sv69w.jpg

DRUID FAIRIE - NIGHTCAFE  - zmJGmVQh2chenqaDP1Ho--1--p0g3w.jpg


I mentioned in a previous post before, with every new and improved Stable Diffusion the results get slicker, and usually I prefer the old SD v1.4 and v1.5, but it depends on how the prompts are written. In this case, the brand new SDXL 1.0 worked very good.
In any event I think it is important to use relevant negative prompts (you can write your own, but I found the default works pretty good) which usually take care of the problem with extra limbs and fingers or distortions.
Another thing I am now working with is ClipDrop where I sometimes try my new prompts. Results from there I might use as seed image on Nightcafe (as well as other sites I use, such as Deep Dream Text2Dream and Dreamwombo).
I found that AI had quite a bit of training on my style (check the website HAVE I BEEN TRAINED - best when you actually log in, then you can search for yourself and see what AI knows about you) - so sometimes using myself in the prompts usually gets me results that reflect my style.


Check out my previous post

MY ARTWORK RETURNED FROM THE MAGICAL DREAMS EXHIBITIONS V AND VI

PREVIOUS POST


Visit my website

ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG

Bonus Special Video:
DRUID FAIRIE TALES

From a single iteration on Nightcafe via transition clips on Dreamwombo and a Facebook story, the finishing touches with special effects on Tiktok. Music track from Pink Floyd was already part of the Facebook story.


MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

8DAuGnTQCLpunQuGfHnXTmxWbRQScCVGspXNWFwLnDsievuea4qyU1jVqMigCzEvt4PGods7ySn9eXsNaEFKADmWJiGrx4imu5D4DN3p6e6chyfMnsaT9Jcc9pE6rb2ZJYLAGdHew4mr5txGR5zJz6dto92J52ZRbX3ZDVk87nN.jpg


should you not be on the blockchain, or have no upvote power, or this post is already older than 7 days, you can always just buy me a coffee.



Sort:  

Strange, lately there seems to be no view of Twitter (X) postings (the 'bot' croaked already quite some time ago, lol) - and now, the Twitter API is not working anymore.