SURREAL GOGGLE VIEW - completely analog!

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago (edited)

About distortions:
“I see everything outside of me through the lens of everything that is inside of me. Therefore, before I look at the world outside I’d be wise to look at the lens inside.”
Craig D. Lounsbrough

I see lately a lot of AI, and myself I had been plugged into that for some time and created a ton of images which I might post more at some point. I recently published this one here, about 3 weeks ago: FACE OF THE APOCALYPSE.

Rummaging through my pile of photos (looking for something else entirely) I just happened to run across this one, which I forgot all about, May 2018 - and a totally analog photo:
DSCN9465.JPGbut of course, I did use a trick: Photographing a detail from one of my paintings through the lens of some distortion goggles. No digital work involved, other than regular photo post-processing.
For a while I was not quite sure which painting it was, but then going through my paintings album on Flickr, I found it - FOMORII INCUBATOR - IN THE BEGINNING II (2012):
IMG_7240sm.jpg

So what posessed me at that time to take this shot? A friend of mine who has had a studio at the Kunstquartier Wien where I am had ordered some fun goggles and was running around with them, bumping into stuff as if drunk. I tried them out, and they were super cool, so I ordered them for myself and suggested we should wear them all day long and see which one of us will be the first one getting seriously hurt, lol.
Here are a couple of shots where I was wearing (but not actually using) them at Carnival time:

Febr 2017 - 47649994881_d18ba86741_o.jpg
another photo which was taken through the lens of these goggles was a selfie I took - rather than milking it for another post, here it is, combined (cloned) with an image I photographed through a Kaleidoscope.

March 2017 - 40683382923_26f569c396_o.jpg

DSCN9472psplay-WEB2000.jpg as you can see, there are possibilities to do stuff without AI. In the above case, post-processing included cloning two images together that I created with some simple tricks directly with the camera. Mind you, taking photos through a Kaleidoscope is a bit difficult.



Visit my website

ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG

46734295645_3f11ced86f_w.jpg
distorted image of myself taken by Peter Gric

If you find this useful, please repost!
MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

should you not be on the blockchain, or have no upvote power, or this post is already older than 7 days, you can always just buy me a coffee.

Sort:  

on Twitter:
~~~ embed:1548708067256291329?s=20&t=Zx5vJnZ1n37PBJdoj91G3A twitter metadata:QXJ0T2ZUaGVNeXN0aWN8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vQXJ0T2ZUaGVNeXN0aWMvc3RhdHVzLzE1NDg3MDgwNjcyNTYyOTEzMjl8 ~~~


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I mentioned a Kaleidoscope in my post, which I had also used to take photos with it. There are two disks on it that can generate a immense array of different views with every twist. I bought it from a Vancouver artist many years ago. But it is a bit difficult to focus with your camera through the tiny hole on top.
Kaleidoscope.jpg

Dear @thermoplastic, sorry to jump in a bit off topic but may I ask you to support the HiveBuzz proposal?
It recently lost its funding, is struggling to get back above the HBD stabilizer proposal, and is in dire need of help.
You can support it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

On behalf of The HiveBuzz team, thank you!