Aurora- Pixelart animation- step by step [ENG/ESP]

in Alien Art Hive14 days ago (edited)

aurora.gif

:D

Welcome to my personal challenge, in which I will try to make 1 pixelart daily plus make an animation and write a post about my processes (sounds like a small thing but it's actually a lot of work lmao, I like to torture myself a little) but even if it looks like a very tryhard challenge on the outside, I think that after at least 5 months drawing daily (or at least more than twice a week) I should notice some improvement in my skills, either in time, in creativity or whatever... if I just now think I'm good, I want to really push myself to the limit and see my full potential shine through, look back and thank my past self.

Now... if I am going to take this challenge I have to :

1- Do something different every day
2- To make it enjoyable, ideally make pixelart of things I like.
3- involve animations

well, get your coffee, let's get down to the creative process.

Hola! Bienvenidos a mi reto personal, en el que tratare de hacer 1 pixelart diario además de hacer una animación y escribir un post sobre mis procesos (suena a poca cosa pero en realidad es mucho trabajo lmao, me gusta torturarme un poco) pero aunque por fuera se vea como un reto muy tryhard, pienso que despues de al menos 5 meses dibujando diario (o al menos mas de dos veces por semana) deberia notar alguna mejoria en mis habilidades, ya sea en tiempo, en creatividad en lo que sea... si justo ahora pienso que soy buena, quiero realmente llevarme al limite y ver mi maximo potencial brillar, mirar hacia atras y agradecer a mi yo del pasado.
Ahora... si voy a tomar este reto tengo que :
1- Realizar algo diferente diario
2- Para hacerlo ameno idealmente hacer pixelart de cosas que me gusten
3- involucrar animaciones
bueno, busquen su cafe, vayamos al proceso creativo

Creative process

For everything I decide to create I always take references, either of colors, silhouettes etc. in this case, this was my reference, a photograph of aurora, a singer that I like a lot, in fact I like her so much that while I draw I usually listen to her songs, most probably one of these days I will upload a cover of one of her songs in which I have been working for some time.

Para todo lo que decido crear siempre tomo referencias, ya sea de colores, de siluetas etc. en este caso, esta fue mi referencia, una fotografia de aurora, una cantante que me gusta mucho, de hecho me gusta tanto que mientras dibujo suelo escuchar sus canciones, muy probablemente uno de estos dias subire un cover de una de sus canciones en la que llevo un tiempo trabajando.

untitled.gif
I really like how aurora looks in this picture and her costume, so I decided I wanted to make my own pixelart animated version, my own interpretation, very much in the gameboy style of pixelart.

Me gusta mucho como se ve aurora en esta fotografia y su traje, asi que decidi que queria hacer mi propia version animada en pixelart, mi propia interpretacion, muy al estilo de gameboy de pixelart

untitled.gif

image.png

https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aurora_Aksnes

Color palette

These are the colors that I decided to use for this pixelart, as you can see they stay in the green palette (I have already mentioned that I like green color a lot) only four colors, or five (since I kept as the darkest color a green almost black) which I used for the lineart.

Estos son los colores que decidi utilizar para este pixelart, como ven se mantienen en la paleta de los verdes (ya he mencionado que me gusta mucho el color verde) solo cuatro colores, o cinco (ya que mantuve como color mas oscuro un verde casi negro) el cual utilice para el lineart.

image.png

sketch

For the sketch I always start with simple lines, that resemble as much as possible to what I want to draw, usually these lines are sloppy, they are just doodles that help me to visualize what I want to draw... i mean it's not like my hand is an automatic photocopier of what's in my head, but I try as much as possible to take care of the proportions... that the head is not bigger than the body for example, or the hands... then in the sketch I almost always try to make lines that help me to visually locate where objects or body parts will be and their size.

Para el boceto siempre inicio con líneas simples, que se asemejen en lo posible a lo que quiero dibujar, usualmente estas líneas son descuidadas, son simplemente garabatos que me ayudan a visualizar lo que quiero dibujar... i mean no es como que mi mano sea una fotocopiadora automática de lo que hay en mi cabeza, pero trato en la medida de lo posible de cuidar las proporciones... que la cabeza no sea mas grande que el cuerpo por ejemplo, o las manos... entonces en el boceto casi siempre trato de hacer líneas que me ayuden a ubicar visualmente donde estarán objetos o partes del cuerpo y su tamaño.

image.png

head eyes and mouf

For each pixelart the style of the eyes and mouth varies according to what you want to transmit, it is really very important and in this case I think I did a good conversion to pixelart of her face and hair, of course it helps a lot that aurora as an artist, has a very peculiar silhouette, her hair, and her facial expressions/accessories etc.

I would dare to say that she as a singer knew how to develop her own character very well.

Para cada pixelart el estilo de los ojos y la boca varia segun lo que quieras transmitir, de verdad es muy importante y en este caso creo que hice una buena conversion al pixelart de su rostro y su cabello, por supuesto ayuda mucho que aurora como artista, tiene una silueta muy peculiar, su cabello, y sus expresiones faciales/accesorios etc.

me atreveria a decir que ella como cantante supo desarrollar muy bien a su propio personaje.

aurora00.png

Body lines

pretty simple I just did the lines for her blouse, her arm, fingers and mask.... I really like how her fingers turned out C:

bastante simple solo hice las lineas para su blusa su brazo, dedos y mascara... realmente me gusta como quedaron sus dedos C:

aurora001.png

DITERING... dithering? (ohgod)

I have mixed feelings about ditering and I still don't know if I like it or not, wait ... did i write that word correctly or...? ehhh ... nvm dithering !!! thats it ! lol
The point is that I'm not really a fan of using this tool yet... maybe with time I can master it C:

Tengo sentimientos encontrados con el ditering y aun no se si me gusta o no escribi la palabra bien? nvm dithering !!! thats it ! lol
El punto es que aun no soy muy fan de usar esta herramienta la verdad... quiza con el tiempo pueda masterizarlo C:

image.png

The moment when i realize

When I started to draw this pixelart...when I made the first sketch the first thing my mind says is : ... we already failed, this doesn't look good, it looks bad, you suck at this, better not draw anything ... oh yeah baby, intrusive thoughts, or intrusive thots as i call them lol. i don't wish it on anyone... the truth, it's complicated when your mind self-sabotages you to stop, if this happens to you too, just say FUCK IT I DO WHAT I WAM and prove to yourself that you are capable of achieving what you want C:
if you don't like how whatever you are doing is turning out, stopping and doing nothing is NOT going to get you anywhere, think of it like complaining, that you haven't gone to the store you like, but you yourself don't get dressed to go..... Always ALWAYS show yourself that you are capable of a lot, practice, perseverance leads to success.

So when I zoomed out, and saw how this pixelart was turning out I really felt my heart warm,all by myself, on a very lonely afternoon, listening to aurora's songs, which ironically her songs encouraged me to keep going, I achieved something I was proud of.

Cuando comence a dibujar que hice el primer sketch lo primero que dice mi mente es : ... ya fracasamos, esto no se ve bien, se ve mal, eres pesima haciendo esto, mejor no dibujes nada ... oh si bebe, los pensamientos intrusivos, o las putas intrusivas como le digo yo lol. no se lo deseo a nadie... la verdad, es complicado cuando tu mente te autosabotea para que te detengas, si te pasa esto a ti tambien, simplemente di FUCK IT I DO WHAT I WAM y demuestrate a ti mismo que eres capaz de lograr lo que quieras C:
si no te gusta como esta quedando lo que sea que estas haciendo, detenerte y hacer nada, NO te va a llevar a ningun lugar, piensa que es como quejarse, de que no has ido a la tienda que te gusta, pero tu mismo no te vistes para ir ... es muy retrasado. siempre SIEMPRE demuestrate que eres capaz de mucho, la practica, la constancia y perseverancia lleva al exito.

Asi que cuando hice zoom out, y vi como estaba quedando este pixelart de verdad senti mi corazon calentito, yo sola, en una tarde muy solitaria, escuchando las canciones de aurora, que ironicamente sus canciones me alentaban a seguir adelante, logre algo de lo que me sentia orgullosa.

aurora02.png

aurora03.png

Coloring hair with shades of green, light and shadows

aurora04.png

base colors of the body

aurora05.png

the number of frames for this pixelart is insane .... 30 frames for this i think. the musical notes were the most hard thing to do smooth... my back is sore lmao

image.png

Thanks for being here with me :3 leave a like if you want to support what i do, and want to make me bring more pixelart to hive!

comment, share, tell me what would you like me to do next time!
see you soon !

untitled.gif
untitled.gif

You can find me on:

instagram as:
https://instagram.com/this.newgirl?utm_source=qr&igshid=ZDExYjZkNGI0OA==
image.png

and in Showroom as :
https://nftshowroom.com/thisnewgirl/gallery

image.png

Recent post :

image.png

https://peakd.com/hive-158694/@thisnewgirl/forgotten-bones-pixelart-animation-step-by-step-engesp

Sort:  

awesome art 😎

Te deseo mucho éxito con tu reto personal, tu arte es muy bueno y de verdad que cualquier ejercicio que hagas para seguir cultivando tus skills y motivándote a crear vale la pena; me alegró muchisimo ver un tributo a Aurora de esta manera, la pieza sí capta esa dulzura mágica, delicada y excéntrica que la caracteriza 🦋 🪐 🦋 🪐 🦋