Sort:  

still you need to move the camera to get things in focus , there is no focus ring on this lens ;)
and you need a lot of light :)

Ah ok, so it's a prime lens then manual focus, I've never used one of those before, I think it would take me quite a while to get used to it. The lens I'm using at the moment is called a 300mm macro but I don't actually think it can be classed as a macro lens at all. Still fun to mess around with.

The macro statement on some lenses rever to the abillity to get closer to a subject or it says macro 1:4 and that would actualy be close-up photography. I use mostly manual lenses my self when you try to focus opn the eyes of an insect Autofocus always find something else to focus on , and with 2.5 magnification it's to dark for auto focus to work flawless anyway, most Auto focus systems stop working above f8 due to lack of light

That is good to know and very nicely conveyed, it makes sense. Even the "macro" lens I have now (which is probably like you say a close up lens) gets really dark and I think the lowest F stop it has is 5.6 and even that is darker than I would like in normal sunlit conditions.

It would definitely need a lot of practice to get used to a manual focus lens that doesn't have an adjusting ring. I will keep a lookout for one in the classifieds as I'm quite intrigued by it and the photos you can capture with it.

no idea what camera you use but you could have a look at their website , this is the lens i use
https://www.venuslens.net/product/laowa-25mm-f-2-8-2-5-5x-ultra-macro-2/

but they make many other macro lenses