My backyard in macro shots

The weather is getting better, so I'm more frequently in my backyard with my camera.
Since it's spring a lot of flowers, bushes and trees are in bloom. A perfect opportunity to shoot some photos.

At first I spotted this flesh fly. I hate it when these insects are in my house, but I must admit; their colours are very beautiful. I spotted this one getting some nectar from this blossom.

image.png

I never knew these flies had such a long tongue. It looks a bit like the tongue of butterflies.

image.png

This is my favourite tree in my backyard. It's a Japanese crabapple. Every year in may it turns into a huge sea of pink.
When the flowers are closed it is dark pink and when they open they are much lighter (as you can see in the photo below).
It will be attracting a lot if flying insects soon like the years before. Hopefully I will be able to shoot some bees gathering nectar from it.

image.png

A bit later I spotted another flesh fly on the leaf of a plant. I really think those facet eyes of these flies are really cool.

image.png

We also have quite a big ceanothus in our backyard. It just keeps on growing bigger. It is starting show it's beautiful purple flowers.

image.png

At first they are a bit more brownish purple, but they turn into a nice dark flower.
The flowers are quite small, but there are a lot of them, so it's really colourful.

image.png

And finally there is our apple tree. We've planted this one last year. It's race is called Topaz and hopefully it will give us some apples in the first year. Let the pollinators do their jobs!

image.png

I hope you enjoyed my little walk in the backyard!


image.png


FriendlyMoose

Creating blogs about photography, cycling, gardening, craft beer and more...



image.png

Every week I create a post with an overview of all the photography contests on Hive. You can find the weekly overview post by checking the #photocontests tag.
I also organise a weekly photography contest myself; the POB Photocontest. This weekly contests has a new subject every week and you can win POB tokens and Ecency points.
Check out the posts with the #pobphotocontest tag.



image.png

The Cycling Community is a community where you can share everything you like as long as it has to do with cycling. Share your rides, bike maintenance, news or tips and tricks.
Cycling posts will be upvoted by the community account.

You can support the Cycling Community by delegating some HP:

25 HP
50 HP
100 HP
250 HP
500 HP


Sort:  

amazing shot, i agree with what is explained here, the meat fly is very beautiful especially if it is a little bit exposed to sunlight, the color will look bright 👌

Beautiful photos! I didn't know fly's had such long tongues either!

Thanks! We keep learning new things 👍

Those are some beautiful macro shots my friend.
I hope you will have a good apple harvest this year. The flower looks so nice.
!LUV !PIZZA !VSC

@ekavieka has sent VSC to @friendlymoose

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@ekavieka ha enviado VSC a @friendlymoose

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 2/5

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
ekavieka tipped friendlymoose
@jlinaresp(3/10) tipped @friendlymoose

Amazing macro shots @friendlymoose friend!!!... Bravo!!!

!VSC
!PIZZA

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @friendlymoose

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @friendlymoose

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 2/25

i love the blossem shots still looking for a small apple tree myself just hard top find a free spot in the garden at this moment.

not only flies also hoverflies have a long tongue to get the good stuff , see the images bellow from 2015 in my old garden i had some Cichorium intybus they were adicted to that and very easy to take pictures .

Cool shots from that hoverfly!

I like growing my own fruits. We also have a plum, raspberries and a small blueberry bush.

I so love the beautiful flowers, their colors and all. They're beautifully captured. I wish I can smell them. ☺