Finally some dragonfly picz

DSCF0451.jpg

Shot with Fuji X-T4, Fujinon 80mm f/2.8 macro

I've always wanted to take pics of dragonflies but they're so hard to photograph cos they fly away when you get close enough. Whenever I see one, I would always try to get close but they really just didn't want to be photographed lol. We were at a nature resort and I brought my camera and macro lens so I could take photos of some small plants and probably insects and surprisingly there were a reasonable amount of dragonflies there.



DSCF0458.jpg

This little fella was just on that plant when I found it. I came close enough and luckily it didn't move lol. I think I can get closer but I didn't wanna risk it flying away. Look at all those details in its wings. :D



DSCF0425.jpg

This was flying above the koi pond and landed there briefly. I quickly took a photo and it just flew away shortly after.



DSCF0430.jpg

Its wings look so incredible with all those lines. Looks like a painting. :D



DSCF0439.jpg

There were a lot of dragonflies in this area and most of them just fly around, just circling back and forth for whatever reason. Then we saw these two making love (?) on top of the water lol. They chose a romantic place to do it.



DSCF0789.jpg

I used to catch the smaller versions of dragonflies when I was younger. I would mostly find them in grassy areas. Along with other kids, we would just catch some holding its butt, sometimes tying a string on it like a pet on a leash. T_T We were kids and didn't know any better.

These dragonflies in the pics tho are big and I wouldn't want to touch them cos their legs are big. :P



DSCF0790.jpg

We would also stop when we see some random dragonfly in a random place like this.



macro.jpg

And here's a pic of me while taking it. :p I just realized it kinda sucks shooting something when the sun is up and harsh since you will have a lot of harsh shadows. I thought it would be ideal for macro since I can lower my aperture since I won't be needing a lot of light anyway. Even though I forgot to try that and just raised my shutter speed for less light, a harsh sun still isn't an ideal lighting. I could say those macro shots I've taken early in the morning are better than this cos of the light. :P

Sort:  

great shots shooting them in full sunlight isn't always easy since they can be very active during the day

Ah yeah I've never thought of this before! True they were so active especially in the morning at 8am or so... By the middle of the day only a few of them were flying lol.

Those jeans, daamn the fashon trends are getting more ragged every decade.

Also that close up shot. Aghhhh The clarity of not only the Dragon fly but the Metal bars as well is Top-Notch!

It's not even supposed to be that ragged, it just happened cos everytime I bend my knee something always tears off lol.

Mommy thicc

These pics are awesome. I haven't really observed dragonflies up close, and their wings look marvelous. The level of detail that you were able to capture is insane. I also didn't know they can be that colorful. Really thankful that you shared these.

Yeah their colors are very vivid! There's some too that are firey-orange-red, green, and even blue. Their wings also can be transparent haha. Thank you!

Oh wow, that would be awesome. The gold and red in your pic already looked great, I can't imagine a blue one. In the Philippines, I only saw the yellow green ones. I think the transparent ones are common here.

Wahhhh, so pretty, and the color is just OMG! Getting closer to it when I want to take a picture of them is one of my problem. No matter how slowly you walk to get closer to them still, talagang lilipad pa rin dila palayo. Good thing you were able to capture those beauty. The angle is just perfect too

Yesss hahah that's why I was a bit surprised to see them allow me to be closer than my other encounters. I think it's cos they're used to a lot of humans being around since this is a park/resort. :D

Excellent visuals. Well done macros ☘️

Thank you!

These photos are great. We have them where I live and they fly without even getting as close as you. They're almost impossible to photograph. You did a great job.

Same here as well! I'm guessing since this was in a resort, they don't really mind and are used to the presence haha

Dang, beautifully shot!

The bugs fly away when I go near them, haha! This dragon fly is chill. 🤣

Yeah hahah I guess they're kinda used to the people around!

Wow, beautiful shots! I love the colors 😍

Thank you! They indeed have really nice colors :D

Woah, makasuya ang macro!

Nindot jud basta naay macro! Ma enjoy jud kag shoot samot nag daghan details na dili dayon makita satong mata hahah

Haha, lage, can't afford pa kos macro ay!

Great photos. I especially loved the third and fourth images. They are so close that you can appreciate the details of his body and wings.

Thank you! :D

You got some great shots @hiddenblade!

Thank you witty :D

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @artmom.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more