Macro vs Close-up

Today on the Ecency Discord channel i was asked what the difference is between close-up photography and Macro photography by @melinda010100 .

The short answer is everything with a 1:1 magnification or higher is macro.

Standing close to the subject and not have a 1:1 magnification is called close-up photgraphy.

Macro lenses can be expensive depending on the lens quality.
Extension rings don't mean you will reach the 1:1 , but it will get you a lot closer to the subject.

Then there is something called a closeup filter that you can put infront of your lens.
about extension tubes and close-up filters i find this Cambridge website very usefull

Reverse rings doesn't always make it to 1:1 works best on lenses below 50mm, however if you reverse a 50mm lens on top of a normal lens you might get close to 1:1

it's all Physics

Here are some boring photo's from a ruler with different lenses and settings hope you get the idea of macro vs close-up.

My Sony A6000 has an APS-C-type (23,5 x 15,6 mm) sensor that means if i take an image of a metric ruler at 1:1 it should show 23.5mm .

using the Sigma 105mm Macro lens at 1:1:

Using the Sigma 105mm Macro Lens at 1:2 good enough for close-ups

Using the Sigma 105mm lens at 1:4 not even good enough for close -up.

using the rokkor 28mm reversed : slightly better then 1:1

Using the helios 44-2 58mm lens not 1:1 but good enough for decent close-ups

Using the helios 44-2 58mm lens + extension 16mm tube, a lot closer but still not 1:1 so no macro but good close-up

Laowa Venus 25mm f/2.8 2.5-5x Ultra Macro with 2.5 - 5x magnification at 2.5 magnification picture on a cm ruler the spaces between each line is 1mm.
that makes it 9mm and a bit

using the same ruler at x5 magnification showing 4.5mm

All images are taken by me @stresskiller

Hope to see you soon on :

Posted using Ecency Coin

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @stresskiller ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

The lense on my camera says 1:2.8/4.5-108 asph. ???
There is also a telephoto 52MM x2

that is probably something like
that you can screw infront of the current lens tomake the 108mm lens a 200mm lens can be nice for birds or bigger wildlife

2.8 - 4.5 is the aperture of the lens , asph tells us about the build of the lens it self. asperical-lens
The 108 is a wild guess for 108mm focal length. so if you zoom in maximal you probably have a close-up picture.
Assuming it's a normal camera you could use raynox to get more closer.

Yes maximum zoom gives me some nice closeups. I have a ton of filters but have never used them. I will order a raynox lens as soon as I can come up with extra $

if you have any further questions just ask 🌹

Raynox DCR-150 converter is a good thing to have in your arsenal. it is handy and decent... I also dreamed about it for a while!
ps. and it is not too expensive ☘️

It's in my Amazon cart! ♥️

I will be with curiocity and very patiently looking forward to the results you will be getting with this gadget. 🙏
!PIZZA

Have a couple big expenses this month, and need to see if I have the funds left over for it! ♥️

Can you tell I inherited this camera and know nothing about it? There is a lens that says 52-58 mm. ?

it might be a 58mm lens with a 52 mm screw thread on the front end for filters or vica versa

Perfectly explained and cleared the concept of macro and close-ups!!!!

More to learn from you.

thank you we do our best to share our knowledge

That's what I called a good explanation, even for dudes like me. 😎😁👏

yeah thougfht this would be better then trying it to explain in discord 🍺

Agree. That's the reason why post! !BEER


Hey @hive-15966, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @hive-15966! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Extension rings don't mean you will reach the 1:1 , but it will get you a lot closer to the subject.

I am using an extension tube with 50mm lens normal mount, as I can't find the double threaded ring to use it as reverse lense
I guess it is still a close up photo, not yet a macro shot. 😅
I hope I can still post my shot on the community tough. : )

i'm not doing strict measurements good close ups are fine with me

hehehc I am just kidding actually, still gonna post some of my work on the community, when I think it is good enough.
sending a slice of !PIZZA to you

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@qwerrie(2/5) tipped @melinda010100 (x1)
ekavieka tipped stresskiller (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

That was perfect shots.
Fly is very hard to photographed it, because we can't approach it spontaneously. And its sensitive nature to the movement around it, making it fly in another direction if approached.
But, you take them photo very well, that was very good job. 👍

thank you, very much , i never have much problems aproaching them just move slowly :)

Wow, that was cool.
Can i joint and share my macrophotography in here...?

that is what the community is for , to share your Macro / close-up photography

Wow, thank you Chief.
I will start my entry as soon as possible.👍

Good to know, after reading you rllr psot which I did after posti g, I realised that my content was only a close up photo

Ohh, realy...?

I will definitely learn from this.. thanks.

Great 😍 you use sigma 105 2.8 like me. Its amazing lens with great potential 😍 I have Raynox 250 dcr and it's great combo to get even closer