Art Progression- Doodling and Watercolors

in ArtBees3 years ago

This progression was one of randomness. Meaning, I was going to go with the flow in regards to how I filled out the page. There was no plan from start to finish. One does eventually evolve! But there isn't one specific end goal in mind for this.

As you can see, I started with two circles this time just for an extra element of random. From there a dinosaur quickly took shape using the smaller inner circle for the majority of its head. From there, this piece poured out of me quickly. Just throwing down the various things I enjoy drawing and painting into a small semi-portrait. There wasn't much time between the start and the finish of this piece. I was completing it much quicker than I normally do. I had to stop and remind myself to take photographs of the progress.

0.png

Here is a pencil for size reference. As you can see, I wasn't working with a huge amount of space. This was completely by choice though and it ended up making a great centerpiece for the page.

Sidenote: It kind of looked like a death star at this stage, hehe.

1.png

2.png

Bloop. We have the start of our plant growth. Two little shroom friends!

3.png

The whole piece quickly filled with foliage. Not my best work, but I wasn't going for mind-blowing. I was just doing this for myself in my sketchbook. I used drooping lines as vines. They did end up looking like disruptions in the circle.

This didn't bother me enough to attempt to remedy it though.

4.png

Midway through waiting for the watercolors to dry, I started inking. Once I got going I found it so hard to stop! I quickly finished the outline and moved on to slapping the page with some more watercolors!

Dinosaur also got a bit of an eyebrow lift. I felt like this was a little more natural and a lot less sassy, haha.

5.png

Detailing behind the jaws and neck are some of my favorite areas to work with. Overall I am pretty happy with how this little portrait turned out. Mostly happy with the shading of the dinosaur and the amethyst. If I could choose some things to "redo", I would most likely change the colors of the blue flowers. I would also change the thickness of the outline on the leaves or maybe even make them a little bigger to account for how thick the outline ended up being.

I do think I will end up revisiting this and adding the outline of the larger circle back into the equation. So the moss doesn't just look like it's hanging there for no reason and with no context.

Doodler Tools:
-Micron 005, 02, Brush Marker
-Pentel Waterbrush
-ShinHan Water Color
-Staedtler 2H Led

divider.png

Check out my friends and fellow collaborators on HIVE!

idividecrop.png

resize2.png

🌟Huzzah🌟

Sort:  

I get to watch her draw these things. It's pretty rad. :P

!PIZZA

You're pretty rad!

Thank you for the pizza!
untitled.gif
!PIZZA

Dino!

The circular frame you've suggested is a rather delightful setting for our scaly prehistoric friend.I wonder whether he is interested in the crystal or the mushroom...or perhaps some prey has been spotted off-canvas?
Very fun!

!PIZZA

Oh shucks! I didn't realize I never replied to this! A delayed pizza is in order!

To answer your question...he seems to be interested in something off the canvas. Probably an insect flapping about noisely! Thanks for stopping by!

!PIZZA

I can see the results of your journey, it's like a compilation of your previous skills being built from the old works shared in one piece. Noice!

It did kinda end up like a compilation! All of my favorite things, haha! Hope you've been well, Ada! Thank you for your kind words!

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!
@huzzah! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@huzzah(2/20) tipped @nyxlabs (x1)
huzzah tipped thebeardflex (x1)
nyxlabs tipped huzzah (x1)
huzzah tipped adamada (x1)
thebeardflex tipped huzzah (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

!discovery 20

Congratulations @huzzah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts.
Your next target is to reach 80 posts.
You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

Wow I love this