Doodler going digital!

in ArtBees3 years ago

Things. Have. Been. BUSY. So, I decided to spend the weekend focused on fun! This meant catching up on my favorite blockchain, sharing a small update post, and reuniting with my inner gamer.

With the recent launch of the Hive $PIZZA Minecraft server, I have admittedly been staying up way too late playing. All I have to say is that- I regret nothing! It was well worth it, even though I spent an enormous amount of time turning cobblestone back into normal stone.

mc2.png
PS: Everyone is welcome to come play!

But I digress...

The majority of my recent doodles have been me trying new things and feeling them out with no real pressure or guarantee that the result is going to work out. I am in a very go-with-the-flow type of creativity pattern right now.

So instead of my normal "progression style" blog post, I figured I would share 3 separate pieces I had completed from the beginning of the month. One of these can be collected by progressing through the NyxLabs RPG, Styx. You do need an account to explore the site but it is a project well worth exploring and looking into. Lots of blood and sweat get poured in every day.

A few notes before we get started.

  1. I would like to slightly apologize for the ugly watermarking. This isn't something I plan on doing regularly. This is just an exception for this particular circumstance.

  2. This is just artist commentary and my opinions. Not a commentary on the game or its ongoing story.

Now that's over with, let's share some art!


divider.png

arpeakd.png

Meet "starry quackers" who is now formally named the Astral Robin (much prettier, right? haha). When I started I had no concept in mind but instead a scene. Not to get all poetic, but just simple imagery of a calm glass-like lake that reflected the sky up into the ether! Then I thought about what kind of beautiful creature I would want to live there and this bird was the final result.

He is also a slide ode to the Stellar Jay that lives in the tree outside my window. He may not sing well, but at least he is beautiful. Fun fact: this isn't even it's the final form. To check out the Astral Robin in all its glory make sure to follow the link for Styx that was provided above!


divider.png

Supriiiise, more gemstones! Who would have guessed!
I am sure after taking a look at the bluestone you can tell it was made in tandem with the Astral Robin. I wasn't quite sure exactly how but in my head, there is definitely a connection between the two. Plus, doesn't this stone feel lucky? Like it would bring whoever finds it, good fortune, and possibly the ability to summon a magical bird in a time of need, haha.

Anywho, with both of these, the goal was to craft stones that gave the appearance of radiating energy. For them to feel alive. It may be kind of hard to tell with those grey and white checkers behind but on a nice calm dark color, these look way better.

As for the emerald, I have no explanation for the "shelves" as I have taken to calling them. I wanted the stone to be quirky but in a rarity sort of way. Mostly, it was me exploring new things. Like taking a similar shape and trying to make it unique and different in its own defining ways.

bcpeakd.png

empeakd.png

I don't normally doodle free form in digital art. So this was a real rarity for me. Typically most of my doodles are drafted on paper. But ya know, just gotta mix it up sometimes. Keep things a little spicy, haha.

Special Thanks to:

divider.png


styx_spiral-300.png@nyxlabs project developed by @zeroooc

divider.png


beeresize.png
Much love for the #artbees community. A great group of artists centered on community and friendly exchanges of art and art-related topics art bees discord

divider.png

resize2.png

🌟Huzzah🌟

Sort:  

I used to worry about the watermarks if some random out there steals my work but then I just realize I don't have any traction or just worried about the consequences of fame without actually earning them yet that's why I stopped using watermarks on my works. Now I just strive to work and let my style be watermarks somehow, like how the artist WLOP makes his paintings, I see it and I know its his style because he has created an identity for himself using that style that reposters cant fake.

You're getting good at the gem crafts and the pacing better since you started out from traditional media. I don't really dwell a lot om colors and keep a safe monochrome as much as possible so anyone that tries a lot of colors is already daring for me haha.

Great job on the starry quackers, that name is more iconic than the rebrand. It turned out beautiful.

Yeah, that makes sense when concerned with impersonators. Watermarks aren't really something I am terribly worried about while posting on the blockchain, to be honest. But they are literally the bare minimum of what an artist can do to protect their art while sharing on the internet.

I threw a watermark on these because of the potential for these pieces to be used in a gamified ecosystem. I wanted to limit the amount of potential "dupes". It wasn't a move to protect myself- but more so the art and Styx. I personally know a few "nonfamous" artists who have had their art ripped and thrown on a T-shirt print for profit. They were able to take legal action because they had copyright watermarks on the original work they had shared.

I don't really dwell a lot on colors and keep a safe monochrome as much as possible so anyone that tries a lot of colors is already daring for me haha.

Love monochrome. It's why I think stippling and I get along so well. I don't have to worry about color, just shades, which is great! Colors add extra thoughts like a palette, and tone, etc. Monochrome is much more classy, haha.

But then I catch myself watching Studio Ghibli films. Staring at the backdrops. The colors and I can't help but want to be able to create something so beautiful someday.

Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your thoughts!

!PIZZA

I see what you mean now and point taken. Those pesky reposters and their lazy ctto shortcut "credits to the owner" whoever that is. I have seen artist go into meltdowns politely asking some of those type of account to stop until just quitting the platform enitely. There's no consequence for content thieves unlike here where downvotes can be thrown but on general social media, it seems like free for all and hop the angry mob is on the artist's favor when calling out the reposter.

You're on you way to creating something beautiful. It's mostly a matter on how much dedicated work you put into it and I should be listening to myself when giving out this thought as I do lack that part too.

Thanks for posting on Artbees and keeping some activity on the community alive on chain :>

There's no consequence for content thieves unlike here where downvotes can be thrown but on general social media, it seems like free for all and hop the angry mob is on the artist's favor when calling out the reposter.

Yeah, I have observed that happen to some folks in the art community too. It seems especially difficult if the thief has managed to obtain more internet clout than the OC smaller artist. Just an ant fighting the whole anthill alone. Usually, the only time something happens to those big art thief accounts is if enough multiple complaints come forward.

I remember finally setting up an art insta and scrolling through and finding half of "art" Instagram are accounts that reshare talented artists' work for "likes" (and if they are really ballsy a set of merch from the stolen art). Made me super wary of posting there.

Thank you, that means so much! That is excellent advice. I shall keep at it and you should too! With practice and time, we shall hone our skills and create lovely, beautiful art!

And of course! I love #artbees and the genuine comment exchanges I get to have here.

Hope you are having a wonderful day!

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@adamada! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @huzzah.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/20)

Connect

Trade


@adamada! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @huzzah.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/20)

Chirp!

The Astral Robin can now be acquired as a collectible adaptable card on Styx!

https://styx.nyx-labs.com/adaptables/spark/astral-robin/

Amazin' work Huzzah!

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@huzzah! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @nyxlabs.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/20)

Yaaas! There it is in all its magical glory! So honored to have it be a part of Styx! untitled.gif

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@nyxlabs! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @huzzah.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/20)

Connect

Trade


@huzzah! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!

Congratulations @huzzah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP