Progress Report on my Sage Fan Art #2! ♥

in ArtBees3 years ago

Hey everyone! Hehe looks like this is starting to be a regular thing... I'm back with more progress! Since my big pieces take a while now and I'm out of old pieces to post, I figured it would be a great idea to post my progress instead! This way I can talk about the tiny details and what goes on my mind while making this ^^

I'm also really having a hard time drawing regularly (which I should because it's good practice) and posting here motivates me to have quite some progress every day ^^ Posting it here was my motivation to draw often before; I figured, maybe it can be my motivation to draw now too!


sage4.jpg


After having a big stump on the perspective of the character itself, I figured I could use a breather and work on the tiny details for a bit :> Well, I started with rendering most parts of the gun since it was looking very flat and, even though it's still a WIP, it's really off-putting to have something so big left unrendered. I'm planning to add some blur effect on the gun later to create the illusion of depth so I didn't go into too many details. I only defined what I think are the shapes that make out the gun so that it would still be recognizable once I blurred it out.

sage41.jpg

I cropped this one to focus on the stuff I did today but looking at it now... it's actually a pretty cool crop =w= Would definitely add a version of this once I'm done >w<


Anywayss, when I was working on the gun, I felt like adding a Sage Buddy! If you're not familiar with the game, there are in-game skins and buddies which you can purchase to customize your guns. Buddies are cute little keychains you can attach to your gun. I'm not proud of it but I actually bought some buddies, the Sage one included >.> Not proud of it but don't regret it. Best $3 I've ever spent. I mean look at it!

image.png

Sauce

It's a mini of your character!!! Best $3.


I've read a tip on working on digital paintings before which says that as much as possible, don't zoom in more than 100%. The details you are to put when zoomed in at 100% rarely matters. For the most part, I follow that rule. But I just can't resist not putting the tiny details on my tiny Sage! It's illegal not to. So, I worked with it at 475% hehe

sage43.jpg

Again, not proud but don't regret it.


sage42.jpg

Lastly, I worked on the orb! Sage has 3 orbs, healing, slow, and wall orb. Each one of them looks slightly different. This one is supposedly the wall orb as she's, in concept, pulling out the wall from behind her with her cool radiant powers. I'm not sure how I'd proceed with this one because the hand is getting two light sources ;-; As if one isn't hard enough ;w; The sun is much stronger but the orb is nearer... Oh, the dilemma.


That's pretty much everything today ^^ Again, won't be putting my normal footer since it's just a WIP (but maybe I should hmmmm)

Sort:  

Congratulations @kothy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day

this is very nice !

Thank you so much! ^^

your most welcome :D

Pffft I'm constantly working well past 100% zoom XD the details at that level don't necessarily get noticed but the lack thereof might.

And more importantly, I'll know XD

The poster crop is pretty cool, definitely needs its own version if you're not just going to switch to that one (I guess you have an equally cool background in mind?).

Think the magic ball might work better closer to the hand but I don't know if it's on its own layer to be able to move easily. Try it if you can move it, it's fine where it is if you can't XD

The addition of the keychain is very cute :) Everything is coming along great!

And if posting the progress is motivating for you then keep posting it :D

I mean hell I do the same thing with my progblogs XD

the details at that level don't necessarily get noticed but the lack thereof might.

That's fair... But I already take way too long without tidying up the deets at 100% >u<

Yeah, I have the orb thingy on a different layer ehehe I play safely :> I can definitely move it closer but I didn't put it too close because I didn't wanna cover so much of the hand (which I worked really hard for >u<)

Thank you so much! :> Didn't get to do work today but hopefully I would be soon x_x