You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not old, just antique

in Galenkp's Stuff4 months ago

I used to know someone whose grandpa had several buildings on their property. One of them was an old workshop and he used to spend so much time out there. He probably had about a million hammers that he never could use all of them, but I am sure a couple of them probably were pretty rare. I never got to see inside the other buildings, but I bet he had a bunch of other stuff too. That is cool that they are going to make the property a campground. As a camper I can really appreciate that!

Sort:  

I watch a show called American Pickers out of the States and am often amazed at the number, and scope, of the places they go to...So much cool stuff. I know they do it for profit but it's clear they also do it for posterity and the value they see in preserving Americana and old things. Great show.

As for the camping...you know I'm a camper too, and the Flinders Ranges is one of the most legit places so I'll be using the site...for free considering the people that bought it are cousins of my girl. 😁

Ah yes, I have some friends that have visited the store where the pickers are based out of. It has become quite the tourist attraction given their success. I always used to like watching antique roadshow on PBS, but then they had the big scandal and that kind of ruined it.

There's a few good shows that are similar, some that focus on the restoration of old things too...I like those.