You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abstinence and habit-breaking

in Galenkp's Stuff6 months ago

I don't think I could function without coffee. The mere thought of abstaining from it terrifies me :)

I am doing a sobriety experiment, though. Since Oct. 27. I went back to therapy and started reading and writing more instead of getting trashed every night. Also joined the local trail running group, so I have a little bit of a community for the first time in a long time. With alcohol, there isn't really any easy way out if you're addicted. At least not for me. Who knows, maybe I'll relapse someday, but for now, I'll take the win one day at a time.

Sort:  

Haha, yeah I felt the same but I drink five cups a day and that's too much; time to make a change.

Well done on the sobriety thing, admirable. I wouldn't give a shit if I never had another alcoholic drink for the rest of my life so that's never been, or will be, a challenge for me I guess. I drink alcohol, but rarely and not much. I've just never felt the need to.

It's really good what you're doing and I wish you all the best with it. The trail running, the one day at a time strategy...seems like you're on the right track.

Five cups a day is a pretty good start. One of these days my heart is probably going to just explode.