You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keeping fed

Total agreement with everything you write.

I used to buy tons of new books and my personal library was huge. Well, not quite huge by Umberto Eco standards, but still pretty big. Due to moving cost I had to pack up most of it when I moved to Japan. I almost immediately started building another personal library here, but moving around and kids put a dent in that and forced me to sell some. Mores the pity.

These days I do use my Kindle a lot. While I agree with your dislike of ebook devices, I also can't argue with the convenience of being able to have a library without the space constraints and the problems with moving often. So these days what I end up doing is if it's a book I absolutely adore, I buy a physical copy. Usually the best one I can afford, such as with some of the really wonderful LotR editions. There was a really nice edition of Dune a few years ago that I picked up too. A few years ago I found a leather-bound copy of Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy complete with bookmark and gilded pages. Really nice.

Anyway, so books I really adore I buy physical copies, but books I am just trying out I'll buy on Kindle first.

It's not an ideal system. Ideally I'd have a huge Victorian-style library, complete with fireplace and easy chair. But it's a system that works with my inter-continental life.

I also love all books of all genres. While I do lean towards non-fiction these days, I still read plenty of fiction. You ask for favorites... everything? Hmm.. I like Blyth for his writings on Zen and haiku. I read and reread his books. I like most things Keene wrote about Japan. His history books were full of info but not well written, but his books on Japanese literature were all wonderful. I adore Marcus Aurelius's Meditations, as I think I mentioned in a comment to another post you wrote when you used a quote from that book. Oh and I could go on and on, but let's jump to fiction: besides Tolkien and the first three Dune books, which may be kind of a given for many bookworms, I like almost everything Asimov wrote. All his books were great. Bradbury, whom you quote, is another favorite. I never got as much into Clarke as many others, but I did generally all the books in his 2001 series and a few others

Last time I was in the States I had the luck of being there when a library sale was going on. I'm looking at my stack from that sale which is sitting in a pile at the foot of my desk. I was limited by travel so I couldn't buy a lot, but I couldn't resist buying a few. The stack: John Adams by David McCullough, Poland by James Michener, Burr by Gore Vidal, Jeeves by PG Wodehouse (it's a collection of 5 of the Jeeves novels), and the Fagles translation of The Odyssey.

Sort:  

Moving around makes it difficult I guess, books can be heavy. But you got lucky with that library sale though for sure.

I think we have a similar approach to books and what we read although, in truth, I don't care about the genre, if it captures my attention/imagination I will read it. I don't get those people who say, *I'd never read romance or history or whatever. Have you tried it is my answer.