You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Calculated risks

in Galenkp's Stuff11 months ago

Yeah, in Japan it is the same. They usually add meat stock to everything and other meat sourced ingredients. My wife has been following the diet long enough that she knows all about it and often will ask the waiter in detail.

But you get at exactly what I always bring up. Farming itself is hardly bloodless. There are usually at least a few critters that get caught in the tractor. There is no ill intent of the farmer there, it's just how it is. Even back in the day before machines, I imagine there was plenty of death that went along with farming. I know around rice paddies, for instance, poisonous flowers were traditionally planted in Japan as a way of attempting to prevent field mice from eating the rice. And when cooking, how many insects make their way into the food? Should we be like the Jainists and attempt to not even harm a mosquito or ant?

I think to some degree, we have to accept death comes with our food, even if we hate the idea of it. I don't like causing harm to things, so I'm definitely sympathetic to that feeling in vegans, but I am also pragmatic. I have always favored the traditional Buddhist way, at least the Japanese Buddhist way. When they are offered meat, they will accept it and eat it, for it would be wasteful not to, but they will say a silent prayer of thanks to the animal.

Sort:  

You say it well.

I don't care why a person eats the way they eat, it's low on my list of life-priorities, however I respect that people have the right to choose how to eat and if that's vegan or anything else that's ok by me. However...yes, we need to accept that food production, any food production almost (probably) always comes at the loss of life in some way as you have intelligently mentioned. It's naïve to think otherwise I believe. I mean...a vegan driving to the vegan restaurant in their car...They didn't run over any ants? A silly example, but a point nonetheless.

I think people should believe it what they do though, and whilst being realistic (pragmatic) is also my thing, I understand that people need to hold onto their beliefs if they are to have passion and conviction in their lives. Unfortunately, there are those who believe in such things that cause others great harm, terrorists for instance, but it is belief all the same, right or wrong. Humans are weird, amazing, smart and stupid...

When they are offered meat, they will accept it and eat it, for it would be wasteful not to, but they will say a silent prayer of thanks to the animal.

It is no different to when I shoot something. It's not in my nature to enjoy killing and I've never enjoyed it...if I did I would know it was time to stop. Respect is always given in the same way as you mention above. It's the least I can do.