You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deleted effort

in Galenkp's Stuff8 months ago (edited)

I could have just edited the text out and written the word DELETED of course, but I took ownership and responsibility and, besides, it would drive me fucken bonkers to have a post on my post feed that simply said DELETED. It's about how I present myself, my self-respect and, of course, I'd never want to earn rewards on such a post.

Yeah, that would bug me too. Already it bugs me when I forget to reblog one of my own posts so that it only shows up on the "all posts" tab and not the "blog" tab. I'm a bit OCD sometimes....

I think I only did that once, and on the Blockchain Poets account not my personal one. I forget why... but something was wrong enough that I felt I had to delete it. I replaced all the text with "Please don't vote. I screwed up. Nothing to see here—move on". Thinking back on it, I should have instead written something more, like a poem about my screwup. If it happens again, I'll have to do that!

My posts usually work through at least one draft on my computer before I copy and paste into Hive, so I usually don't have too many screwups. My only worry is since I schedule my posts about a week in advanced, what if something happens and they all publish at once? That happened to me on my Wordpress blog many many years ago. Of course with Wordpress you can just go in and unpublish them. Not so easy with Hive. Luckily that hasn't happened (yet)!

Sort:  

forget to reblog one of my own posts

I put all my posts into my blog feed and yeah, sometimes I forget to toggle that switch, it's easy enough to go back and reblog it manually but I get what you're saying, it bugs me. Lol.

I've never done the do not vote or deleted edit and I never will...however back in the day it could have happened. I think people want to rectify their error quickly and that's the fastest way, but it's not the best way.

It happens in my communities. I address their original post, sometimes because of dual language like a couple days ago, and instead of simply going, ok, sorry, and editing it into English (done very easily I might add), in which case the post will be unmuted...they edit to deleted. It's dumb, because then the post will stay muted (I don't like such dumb fucken posts in my community as they contravene guidelines) and I will downvote it to return rewards back to the pool as a post of that nature deserves none.

If you have a 250-300 word post ready to go in drafts all you need to do is cut and paste it into the original error post and you're good to go. A post calling yourself out on your error is ok, or anything generic at all...it's probably not going to get the original post unmuted in that community, but it'll make your post feed look better. Add a bit at the tope explaining the error, apologising to the community and all...You're good to go.

Then, write another post in drafts and hold it for next time.

My only worry is since I schedule my posts about a week in advance

I've seen this go horribly wrong.

I never do this as it brings the opportunity for error. I sometimes schedule a post for later in the day...the #weekend-engagement topics post sometimes if I know I'll be out on Friday night, but even then, I always have my phone and I simply post it from there, or delay the post altogether. I see no point scheduling a week of posts as I'm always on Hive to respond to comments anyway...I'm on Hive each day so figure I can publish when I'm there. I'm engaged with Hive and scheduling a week ahead would make me feel disengaged. It takes two seconds to publish a post in real time. I know people do it though, schedule a week in advance. Not my thing.