You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keeping fed

in Galenkp's Stufflast year

I love to read and can lost for days inside a good book. I use all opportunities to read, even hiding in my own house to avoid contact. Okay, not literally hiding, but, not being immediately available. That sounds a tad selfish, but, I can assure you the proper houses are being worked, household chores are done and nobody is going hungry.

I never got to finish this before I lost the internet, and it is so old, but, seems like I just couldn't win this day.

I do love books, but, I honestly brought my Kindle on this trip. Going so long and would run out of books without a fresh supply. Oh, there are books, but, probably not anything really good. Ss, I am a cheater when I am away for long periods, but, when home, my books rule.

Sort:  

I don't mind sacred selfishness, taking time for oneself, enriching one's own life, reflection, contemplation and finding time to engage with what makes the heart sing. It's not selfish per se.

I see you've been away, not sure how long for, and can totally understand the benefit of a device for reading; it makes sense.

I hope you're having a great time.

That's nice of you to say and it does make me feel not so selfish. :)

I have been away since January 14th and will be back in the US at the end of the weekend. It's been harsh this time as the internet has been bad, I have never had it this bad. So, I stopped worrying about it and relaxed. No sense in worrying a out something that you have no control over.

Is it selfish for a mother to take care of her own health and well-being so that she can do so for her child? Is it selfish for a fireman to spend hours in the gym working out so he or she is better able to perform the job of saving lives and property? (No is the answer).

You're not selfish by taking some time to read, to retreat from society to feel more settled, centred or at peace. You're not selfish to say no to people because what they ask of you doesn't align with your ethics, morals or time frames. It's not selfish to have your own thoughts and opinions even though they may not align with the general consensus. These things and more are human. We shouldn't be made to feel guilty of selfish for them.