You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deleted effort

in Galenkp's Stuff8 months ago

We live in a world of inequality and in which people want everything their own way, (entitlement ethos) and that's simply not possible.

I started my communities for my own purposes, as places where I can post things that relate to the theme of each, a file of sorts where I can locate those posts easily. Of course, people came along and posted there too which I do not mind. I set rules to help maintain the appearance and also to ensure the communities did not lose their theme, their purpose. I maintain those rules for the same reason and I have no qualms in muting posts that do not comply, although I take no pleasure from it. I think people believe I enjoy muting and that's their prerogative of course, I do not though; I do it though, because I respect the environment (and reasons) I've created those communities. I get attacked because of it of course, and that's ok too, sometimes I'll absorb it and at other times I'll act on it.

If someone came into my house and was told it's a non-smoking environment but lit up their cigarette anyway, how do you think that would go for that person? It's no different in my communities. I'm not sure that's courageous or me just maintaining my own personal standards and values. Either way, I'm ok to do so, because I only have to answer to myself and I want to maintain my ownership, sense of responsibility and integrity.

Hopefully this makes sense.

Sort:  

If someone came into my house and was told it's a non-smoking environment but lit up their cigarette anyway, how do you think that would go for that person?

Yeah definitely, and quite rightly so as you put it in this statement. There are rules in place for a reason and people simply have to comply with it. Being self-entitled and thinking that the world revolves around you is an unacceptable behaviour 😠

Yes exactly and life doesn't always deliver exactly what we would like. Slapping a person in the face is likely to inspire a reaction and people need to understand that.

Like this? 😂

untitled.gif

Yep, like that, but times it by a million.