You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I said no...then yes by text message

I have the opposite expereince. My birthday is New Years Eve and the older I got the more pissed off I got that I didn't have a special day. Everyone was out celebrating anyway. Plus it's right on the back of Christmas and other family birthdays so it feels like there's no energy to celebrate.

So, about 6 or 7 years ago my family decided to ignore my birthday completely, leat it as New years Eve, and celebrate in June instead. So now, like the Queen I have an official birthday on June 30th. It's brilliant. Always a great family day out. plenty of energy, decent weather and much more choice about what we do.

Sort:  

I get that, makes sense...what a shit day for it...I guess the 29th February would also be bad (a birthday every 4 years).

I like your Queens Birthday approach, makes it special and give's y'all a (good) excuse to get out and do something fun! Legit concept. Maybe I should do the same, but make the day the 29th February so I only have to worry about it on the leap years.

Most people with leap year birthdays celebrate on the 28th don't they? I wonder how many of them suffer disappointment when they finally get to celebrate on the 29th and everyone forgets and sends them cards and pressies on the 28th. 😂

That makes sense, my comment probably didn't. 🤔🤪

Yeah, I think it's a complication one doesn't need in life, damn leap years.

Your comment made perfect sense my mind just wandered off to leap year birthdays. 😂