You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I said no...then yes by text message

in Galenkp's Stuff2 months ago

I think I can say: happy birthday in advance. Notice I don't sing it! But I do understand your feelings. My partner has the same thing. He doesn't hate his birthday, but he doesn't feel like celebrating it either. The first time we went on a trip together, we went to a shelter to meet our Dutch Shepherd girl Lana. When we got back from there he told me it was his birthday. His gift to himself had become Lana. In all the years that followed, he never wanted to celebrate his birthday, but with just the two of us together and the dogs we did celebrate Lana Day until she passed away a few weeks ago.

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear that Lana passed away, I know how tragic that can be, losing a pet. You had many good years with her though and the memories that go with them...a really good reason to continue to mark Lana Day moving forward. And yep, it sounds like your chap is exactly the same about his birthday as I am.

Lana Day will always be remembered, and yes we had many great years with her. Cancer sucks!

Yeah, my guy is the same, he spoils me on my birthday but doesn't want to celebrate his birthday because he doesn't want to be the center of attention.

Exactly how I feel too.

That much I could read in between the lines in a lot of your blogs already.