You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deleted effort

in Galenkp's Stuff2 months ago

It's nice to see that your posts are as engaging as ever.

Dating back, I was puzzled when I saw some of those you mentioned. It was like a habit before because of the reason that anything published here is published on the blockchain. And the blockchain records every data that enters it. However, it will stay on the blockchain forever leaving no choice for deletion. That is why a lot of bloggers from back then did that to correct or conceal what should not have been there.

If you remember, or if you know the previous Steemit Blogging Platform (not sure if it's still there) all new users we're required to write an introduction post and introduce themselves with their real faces holding their usernames on a piece of paper. And to some it was a big choice to do because they risk privacy and personal information.

Not everyone is easily agreeing to that process but it was a rule. And truth be told I was one of them. I did the introductory post and weeks later deleted my real photo and just replaced it with the word "DELETED".

An introverted person like myself isn't really reluctant to see my photo from anywhere else. People like me could think that these properties can easily be exploited for unwanted purposes - that's how we take seriously the dangers of trying to exist in a new online community. (back then earning through your post was very new and it's too good to be true)

But thinking about it now, although I know how other's opinions are and a lot of factors can be considered to not go that far, I think I would still do the same if that time was the present. Those were my days where...you could say I was desperate to live by myself and wanted to hold on to the freedom that I gained. But knowing just how you want things to move forward for you is not enough to guarantee you that choice.

It was an experience I will never regret.

Sort:  

It's lazy to delete text and replace it with the word deleted rather than with a post that adds more value. It also doesn't look good (in my opinion) to have a post like that on one's feed. So, a little effort goes a long way right?

As for putting one's image on above or any blogging platform...people don't really have privacy in life, it is an illusion people like to cling to, and that's ok; the reality is that no one has privacy and anything/everything can be found if one knows where and how to look.

That's true, indeed. An illusion....