You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Calculated risks

in Galenkp's Stuff11 months ago

Food allergies make dining out a bit dangerous. I'm not risking anaphylactic shock, but I don't ant to be dealing with gastrointestinal distress. Most places are more than willing to accommodate my needs though, and I try not to be a jerk when making special requests for ingredient lists and so forth. But the risk is always there that someone else who doesn't have to live with the consequences will be less vigilant than I am, and will forget that butter or whey is dairy.

Sort:  

Oh yeah, I can imagine.

I have a mate I shoot with who is lactose intolerant and he is ultra-careful when he eats out, even when he comes here, I always make sure I've got the right milk for his coffee. I suggested he might want to drink it black like I do, but nope, no can do. It must be difficult for those with allergies, I'm lucky in that being diabetic isn't as bad as all that and I can usually find something without any fuss.