You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I said no...then yes by text message

in Galenkp's Stuff2 months ago

Yes, I definitely like to celebrate my birthday. But similar to your method I do not like the group party, singing or really others at all (wife is optional, dog is ok :) For me, that is MY special day. I seldom take time or money to do anything for myself, and seldom have I allowed others to do for me either. I don't really care for surprise gifts or any gifts from others, I tend to choose something special for myself and allow it to be classified as "from" others. I've become quite particular at my age about the things I want about me taking up space. Especially after all the moves! Everyone has told me I am hard to buy gifts for and I tell them "So stop!" Because I do feel a bit of remorse when I throw them away or give them away a month later and then get the item or version I really wanted. Yes, I'm a bit obsessive about researching things I want not always having to get the best, but definitely what I feel is the best for my needs and price. Too many years of reviewing and buying technical hardware and software that must meet specific requirements I suppose. (or maybe, just maybe I'm a bit off) Nah, that can't be it. lol -- There, that's a longer reply than I've typed in 4 months, so guess it tripped a trigger and I had a few moments time. Happy Bday to you lalala Happy Bday to you lalala :)

Sort:  

I think you've hit the nail on the head, it's your day and should be treated as such - you should be permitted to do, or not do, as you wish.

On the gift thing, it can be a little awkward and, like you, I have particular tastes and needs so can be difficult to buy for as I also like to research and also know what I already have and what might compliment it. I understand that some people get enjoyment from the gift giving though, it makes them feel good to give them. I get it.

I'm going to accept the whole birthday thing and know there will be no cake and candles, no fucken singing and no one but the two of us, just the way I like it.