You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not old, just antique

in Galenkp's Stuff5 months ago

It's not that I like old things, but rather the things that I grew up with. Maybe it's sentimental value or familiarity, I just like them. Since I am getting older as well, I guess they can be considered old things. We have restored a good amount of wooden furniture, and I think those are the ones that are really worth it, especially if they are the really hard and heavy wood. As for electronics, cars, or other older things, I don't think they are worth restoring unless they are rare pieces. They can consume a lot of gas/electricity, and the newer ones are usually safer and efficient.

Sort:  

I've restored some furniture, and other things, just for the enjoyment of it, but have also used those items in my houses so there's a double benefit. Have you done those renovations yourself, did someone teach you how to do it?

Oh, I didn't do the renovations myself. They were very hard wood [Narra], so it would be difficult. We had people who do renovations do it instead.

Ah ok, that makes sense.