You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keeping fed

I don't download them though, or read on a device - I can't stand doing that.

I’m with you on this one, mostly. I do have some downloads (mostly free, out of copyright classics) but greatly prefer paper.

I had a period of a few years where I spent way too much time online (Hive, I’m looking at you) but have gotten back into the groove of regular reading. Lately finishing five or six books a month.

Sort:  

Hmm, funny you say that about Hive...I've scaled back my own posting here for many reasons, and spend that time being more engaged with the real world. It's been good for me.

I would normally read a book a week, but that declined to two a month mostly. I'm rectifying that and focussing on other areas I want to give my attention to.

What sort of books do you read mostly?

What sort of books do you read mostly?

I bounce around all kinds of stuff, but lately lots of crime fiction — Michael Connelly, Arnaldur Indriðason, Henning Mankell. But bucking that trend, I just started on Patrick Modiano’s Occupation Trilogy.

Ah ok, that's good stuff.

I try not to get too bogged down with one genre unless I'm reading a series. I can get lost in Raymond E. Feist's world quite easily for instance. I feel the broader I read the more I'll know or understand so I keep it fluid.

Well I might just have to read some Feist. Until looking him up just now, I had no idea of the Tékumel connection. A bazillion years ago, I played Empire of the Petal Throne in my wargaming phase. Yeah, more than a phase. I never met Barker, even though we were both local gamers at the same time.

Start with Magician which is the first in a trilogy. Go from ther. Clever, relatable and well crafted. I vouch for it.