You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deleted effort

in Galenkp's Stuff8 months ago

Well, I believe otherwise. Mistakes come with the human experience, hiding them or painting over them seems to me like an overcompensation. Although I do respect people's aesthetic appreciation of their own spaces, I don't think it's a bad thing. Do you think it makes people vulnerable somehow? And to what kind of attack?

Sort:  

I've been around for a long time mate, I understand that mistakes are a human thing and I think they're a good learning opportunity. The way I read your comment though...indicates to me that if you made a mistake you'd not wish to rectify it? What about if that caused complications in a relationship that worked to your detriment? Seems like limiting behaviour.

I know you like to present yourself as a deep thinker, but in this case you're overthinking it as this post post isn't about deep thinking, it's about a person on Hive representing themselves well, or poorly.

Hence, my question. What are the real inconveniences of making a mistake and admiting them in a big Erased label? What are the vulnerabilities, and to whom?

There's of course a diference between a mistake which hurted someone or the self, like telling a lie that disrupted the relationships of other people. And there are mistakes as presented. It happened to me once. I, exploring ecency, I did a post but I made the mistake of not adding any community. Since I had saw it before in communities, big "MISTAKE" labels that's what I wondered. What are the wrongs commited to others or the self, but an admition of guilt? Is wasted space on the blockchain detrimental to Hive? That's what I am asking.

An admission of guilt is not really what I'm talking about here. Ownership is different. This is not making someone admit they were wrong, it's about a person taking ownership for themselves, their future and how they're perceived on the blockchain.

Sometimes an error cannot be rectified, like posting something into a community it does not belong. That's when a person has a choice...change it, write a post that does fit. Change it to the word deleted, or accept that they made a mistake, don't change it and will be muted for it by community admins. It's not about making them feel guilty at all, just ensuring they comply with the community guidelines.

Is wasted space on the blockchain detrimental to Hive?

No, it's not. But a person getting rewards on a post that says deleted is as that takes valuable rewards away from people took ownership to post with effort. A post, placed into the wrong community is as that sends the message to others that they can do the same and then what's the point of communities? Presenting oneself better here will help people engage with an account and editing a post to make it better isn't anything to do with guilt. You keep going on about guilt, but this post isn't about guilt, so your insistence in talking about guilt leads me to feel that guilt is on your mind but in the case of this post which is not about guilt, angling your comments around guilt is probably unproductive. I hope that's clear.

I think you're trying to overthink this, and lead it into a philosophical debate and I'm not interested in that line if conversation in respect of this post. Look, if you want some first hand understanding, publish a post in my weekend experiences community about something you did on a Wednesday. I'll address it of course, as it would contravene the rules of my community, and you can then apply some of your philosophy to what happens next.

Oh now I get it. I failed to understand the perspective of the moderator of a community. Of course is detrimental since it gives ill example to others. Sorry I got stuck there. My mistake.

Also thank you for taking the time to explain! Forgot to mention that.

It's ok, I figured you'd found your way to an area that was a little off-base from the post...I didn't want to complicate this post (and the message) with philosophical discussions around guilt and so on...the message is clear, *don't do posts that simply say, deleted.. And if it's done, expect the rewards to be removed and the post to be muted.

Now...Today, I have a post about beauty...You'll see it on my post feed within the hour...That's where you can entertain your philosophical thoughts to your hearts content. I'd be interested to hear your perspective.