You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Viable or impracticable

in Galenkp's Stuff2 months ago

I think at the moment it's not viable but this can change in the years to come. It will also involve the government to help fund the EV infrastructure but in a way that will also involve the people cause they have to vote for the people in charge or vote for the props to pass. Not sure how it works in Australia or other countries but when I was in California, people in the state could vote for their governor and the changes in the law like legalizing weed etc.

For my current country Malaysia, I think it will be a slow progress. Currently the market for ev is quite small. To really make it work, I think ev cars need to be more affordable and the infrastructure needs to be there to support it. Until this happens I would say it's not viable for Malaysia

As for addressing the fossil fuels, I think for humanity yes we should. We should care about how our other future generations will live on Earth. We shouldn't make the world a worse to live in my opinion. We should look at ways to conserve our non renewables resources and try to utilize renewable resources so we can maintain life on Earth. I think a lot of previous generations didn't care much about what happened to the planet but now people in the last two-three decades are starting to make changes after seeing the effects of pollution, global warming etc.

Sort:  

but this can change in the years to come.

Yep, everything can change in the years to come, but will it and will the change be positive? Much change in the world (over history) hasn't been for the good.

I agree with you that it's not viable and cost of EV's, lack of infrastructure and the slow take-up is probably to blame...also loads pf people don't actually believe it's all that much better for the environment, here at least. Time will tell of course, but change can take time, positive or negative, and time is on short supply for a human (and humanity in general).

Yep, everything can change in the years to come, but will it and will the change be positive?

We can only hope for it to be positive unless we are able to actually invent something or make a movement that can actually impact the certain change. I'm always down to help the world become better by volunteering and doing what I can and I hope others can contribute as well. If they can't with their time hopefully with their money.

Sometimes just the human nature of greed can take us off course but I believe despite the hiccups we are still moving forward. I'm just happy that I live in a generation where there isn't as much war as before. I don't have to be sent to the army. I would say there's more freedom and choice then the past generations where I've seen parents and grandparents have to sacrafice/suffer a lot but they did great at giving their children a better life. Sadly, there are still come countries that still lack a basic standard of living (no clean water etc). Anyways we need to have faith that people will have an interest to make the world a better place and not just to selfishly live for their own sake.

Yes but that's how most technology start I feel. In the past, the first cars probably weren't the most affordable. Same with desktops and phones were super expensive as well. It will take a few iterations to get it down to where the mass can buy evs. Hopefully by then, the governments in each country will allocate the funds to build the infrastructure. Or who knows there might be a new form of transportation. I'd be down for real life teleportation I know it's still a thing from movies or tv shows but it could happen (maybe not in our life time :( ). I guess something more realistic would be massive improvements in some of the potential alternatives like solar power or hydrogen power cars?

hopefully I made sense haha

Hope is one thing, one must have some...but action is what makes change.

Definitely! Action will be the key to the outcome of the future