You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The punisher

in Galenkp's Stufflast year (edited)

I believe in punishment but I also believe it is not always the right way as I believe punishment can worsen those hateful feelings against police or society. I don't believe punishment alone can bring some criminal back on the right trail. It only gives them anxiety to do it again.

I believe it is often the culture and people one surrounds himself with who influence a person and his actions. Not always though but I believe I could have been a totally different person with other friends.

I believe that people who commit bad crimes should indeed be punished and go to jail, but more important, they should be guided with therapy. I don't believe that only jail can make a person good. And I don't believe people become better if others make them feel like they are one big mistake. They should learn how to understand their own feelings and the feelings of others. And I also do believe people can change with the right guidance (Although I am not sure if sociopaths can change)

By the way, I admire it that you give your friends and people you know a call around this time of the year to stay connected and see how things are going & wish them nice holidays. I guess I am from the less social generation who just send Whatsapp messages.

Sort:  

punishment can worsen those hateful feelings against police or society.

It can, but I'm not sure that's a reason not to punish someone. A rapist for instance...is he not punished because he may come to dislike the legal system or hate society? I know people who have endured rape and it has generally destroyed their lives. The rapist should be slaughtered like a pig, in my opinion. I guess some will disagree...but might change their mind after someone close to them, or they themselves, ere brutally raped. You know what I'm saying? I don't think there's a place in this world for rapists and child-molesters, or many others for that matter.

Imagine for a moment, a young girl travelling around in her van who got onto a ferry and didn't buy a room to save money. Imagine her getting dragged into a room by some random guy and brutalised for no other reason other than the whim and perverted pleasure of the guy. It happens. I'd be happy to end that guys life - Just saying.

I believe it is often the culture and people one surrounds himself with who influence a person and his actions.

Yes, I agree...but everyone has a choice to be a better person. Many choose not to be.

In an ideal world, therapy would be a nice option, but we don't live in an ideal world. I guess punishment, when, what, why and how, is a very difficult subject and we all have opinions on it that are unlikely to change.

By the way, I admire it that you give your friends and people you know a call around this time of the year to stay connected and see how things are going & wish them nice holidays. I guess I am from the less social generation who just send WhatsApp messages.

I prefer speaking with people as texts are impersonal and have very little meaning...I know people who send generic Merry Christmas messages, some even to me, without even typing my name - they cut and paste the same message to everyone. I never reply; those people aren't friends.

They say we're more connected than ever...I say we have never been more disconnected.

Oh yeah I definitely agree with that, but I believe it is important to prevent those things from happening again. Jail will often do so, but I believe there are also many criminals who come out of jail in a worse state. And in case of rapists, I vote for castration.

Jail often exacerbates the existing issues for sure. I don't know there's much option though. And yeah, there's many criminals the deserve a lot worse than jail.