Freewrite - Morning sun

in Freewriters3 years ago

mother-and-son-admiring-ocean-royalty-free-image-592014719-1556290551.jpg

It hit me suddenly and completely like a sledge hammer pounding down upon a frozen lake. Questions which had remained unanswered for 23 years shattered in sudden realisation, the fragments all scattered. It made sense now, yet somehow it didn't.

We were connected. We were best friends since our random meeting all those years ago. Although she was 20 years older than me, we had so much in common. Her blood was my blood. The instinct of togetherness we felt as long time friends was not just friendship after all. I had sensed this when we first met. That feeling of deja vu, almost like we were reliving something.

Now it had all changed. Those two words changed everything. It all made perfect sense now. She. was. MY MOTHER, of course she was!

"Morning son" she uttered smiling as she breezed out the door.

The pieces of the puzzle came together in that fleeting moment. Then it dawned on me, it literally dawned on me.

"Morning sun!"

Morning fucking sun!!!

Not "morning son" as I had heard.

God dammit, I can be a fool sometimes.

5d1aa9859f61252713395e36974ac588.png
Ok here we go again.... easing myself back into the freewrites...

This is a freewrite organised by the charming @mariannewest.

Why not have a go yourself. You have 5 minutes to just write what comes to mind on the theme given.

https://hive.blog/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-1229-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-morning-sun

The image used above is taken from here: https://www.countryliving.com/life/entertainment/g19723549/mother-son-quotes/

Peace out

Golf