I've deleted my post because abusive rules -> @hivewatchers

in Freewriters2 years ago (edited)

This was initially a post about human progress, but now it's gone because abusive rules & @hivewatchers.

My post got downvoted poiting I need to post a link attribution. I replied explaining that I'm not required by owner license rules and provided proof.

With no explanation I got downvoted as like I was supposed to follow their rules, otherwise I will get punished. A bunch of bullies with a lot of power.

Oh wait, why that does sound familiar...?

I understand why plagiarism and identity theft would be a problem that require reinforcing some rules, but this is not the case, again those pictures don't require attribution and it's clearly written on their website, I have even attached print screens.

 " " \"Screenshot_20220218-051714_Brave.jpg\"""

 " " \"Screenshot_20220218-051303_Brave.jpg\"""

Since I did nothing wrong I'm not looking to comply with this abusive rules, reinforced by people who don't want to take the time to make better rules, or even consider when and how it's appropriate to apply them.

I think our main priority should be the community and the creators not just somebody who can push a button and erase a reward.

We already have plenty of those...

Enforcers should serve the people and the community, not the other way around.

I don't see a logic in following blanket rules blindly that are not accurate or simply abusive, but if this is the custom around here maybe this is not the platform for me and I'm more than happy to take my business elsewhere.

I'm not going to let myself be bullied just because some people don't care enough to think.

More in the comments.

Sort:  

Quick question:
Do you think the people/curators that visit your post know if the image you used is free or not if you do not mention it anywhere?

It would take you 5 seconds to paste the link to the source and everyone else could quickly check where the photo comes from. It would not only save curators and other users time to look for the image each time, but also would make your post look more honest.

Well, I see your point. But also, maybe we should not require a proof until there is a clear proof that there is a wrongdoing.

I think the proof would be somehow indirect in the fact that I did not post a link and I was not reported for using a stolen picture, So maybe until proven otherwise, I do have the right to use that picture, which was absolutely the case.

I'm not sure if treating everyone like a criminal is the right way.

We use many things on a daily basis and we don't provide proof for everything. Imagine every time when you enter a clothing shop, the shop kerper trying to see where did you bought your underwear and where is the receipt.

But again, I see your point and I understand that this is how the community works, and there are good reasons for why that's the case.

I guess I will have to think about it and thank you for your thought provoking question.

Your input, just like the lovely person from above, was very useful. Thank you.

The problem with unsourced images is it opens up Hive as a whole to allegations that we support image theft. Recently image theft is front and center on everyone's radar due to blatant image theft for NFT creation. Other chains ruined the playing field for everyone in the crypto world. Hive, while isn't a pure-NFT platform, still allows for monetization. At the same time, Hive is gaining popularity. As it does so, it can't be seen as supporting image theft. This negatively affects opportunities to promote Hive (it surfaces as a clause in various partnerships and things like listings). Hive isn't trash, it's the way of the future. To be the way of the future and ensure its value goes up, we do need to make sure it shows that value and quality. This is why everyone is asked to simply link to the source or indicate where the image or text is from. It is only a small, barely noticeable link, that doesn't take away from any posts. That is all.

Well, this is good conversation and I understand the logic, but we also have to see how many problems this very logic creates. So much abuse happens around the world just because everyone is afaid to be judged and wants an image immune to attacks.

Corporations and politicians are especially guilty of this, they do the unthinkable, trying to save their appearance.

And this is not even the real problem, which is that everyone is attacking everyone else and that creates the fear and irrational behavior.
So I understand that part, hive is afraid just like everyone else. For that in my yesterday post I did include the link although it was not necessary. But this didn't solve the problem it just kicked the can down the road.

The value of this logic can be really seen when you have to attack your own community of creators just to be temporarily immune from external attacks.
Isn't this what YouTube is doing to its community?

Obviously a solution will not happen over night, but we need to strive to find better rules.

It's a very small thing to ask. There are other reasons as well. Hive has a lot of photographers and artists who use their own work in their posts. When someone uses a photo or image without a source, curators assume they are the creator. All in all, the aim of Hivewatchers isn't to cause fear but to keep Hive clean, clear and valuable for all. Keeping Hive the best it can be is something we all want to do, yourself included, and we all know that as no one wants to deliberately sabotage their own investment's worth.

We're not YouTube. YouTube can delete or freeze your account. We simply post an educational comment and sometimes vote. You can ignore and transact. Hive was created to make sure that we can continue our community with the ability to transact without the threat of freezing accounts. Don't think of Hive in relation to some political acts; Hive decentralization is essentially an alternative system to traditional governance, even DPOS governance that we've seen pre-Hive.

I see you have met our mean people.
The hive has some customs that are not intuitive.
Content should be original every time, or rewards declined, or burned, on any reposts.

Not sourcing pics, and or text, is a no-no, because that is what managing a reward pool efficiently requires.
If you are gonna use pics not your own, put the source link under them, it's just good policy.

If you choose to argue with hivewatchers and go your own way because you are a free, sovereign person, expect that they will stick to their rules and you will pay a price.

These rules help cut down on spam, plagiarism, identity theft, and farming of the pool.
They are enforced across the board to simplify the jobs of the people that mind this task.
It is not personal, don't take it that way.
Simply try not to skirt the rules too often and you shouldn't have any problems with the enforcers.

If you have questions you can ask in this discord: https://discord.gg/SUwJ2s2, or not, up to you.

Hi thank you for your message. I don't see a logic in following blanket rules blindly that are not accurate or simply abusive, but if this is the custom around here maybe this is not the platform for me and I'm more than happy to take my business elsewhere.

I understand why plagiarism and identity theft would be a problem that require reinforcing some rules, but this is not the case, again those pictures don't require attribution and it's clearly written on their website, I have even attached print screens.

Screenshot_20220218-051714_Brave.jpg

Screenshot_20220218-051303_Brave.jpg

Since I did nothing wrong I'm not looking to comply with this abusive rules, reinforced by people who don't want to take the time to consider making better rules.

And your explanation says that this is easier for the enforcers to have a better job, I think your main priority should be the community and the creators not just somebody who can push a button and erase a reward.

Enforces should serve the community not the other way around.

I am completely opened to put a link whenever I share a picture that I don't own and requires me to do so but if this happens one more time I'm going to stop posting and that's it.

I'm not going to let myself be abused just because some of your colleagues don't want to think.

The requirement for sourcing pics is to keep curators from thinking they are your original photos, not many curators take the time to search in tineye or other search engines and it was determined that sourcing is easier than downvoting curators that don't check.
Very few people are interested in policing abuse, fewer still that will downvote it.
Without these people the bots would sweep the web for content and drain the pool.
Only by policing abuse can we have this platform at all.

You are free to leave, but just know that if you do leave then you allow those that 'have done you wrong' to prevail.
If you cared enough about the hive, you would stay and join in the push back on the tyranny.

Either way, the blockchain will continue doing what it does.
I think you harm not just you, but all of us, by leaving.
More voices means better crowd wisdom, imo.

Finally, a smart human.
More people like you are needed.
Well done.

Image potential source

It has come to our attention that you missed adding source to your image. Please ensure that all images used in your posts are linked to their source and credited unless of your own creation.
Thank you.

Hi, thx for the message Those images are from Pixabay and they don't require adding a source, that is literally specified on their website.

Screenshot_20220218-051303_Brave.jpg

Screenshot_20220218-051714_Brave.jpg

Hello.
Thank you for replying.
You didn't select "decline payout" before publishing the photo.
It means that you claimed the authorship of it by not sourcing it.
We removed the reward from the post.

Before doing that I would have appreciated if you would point me where it says this in the rules. But since you didn't do that I guess you were not here to teach me something but to punish people. :)) Well done

Like I said I didn't link because there is no such request and by not doing that it doesn't mean I claim authorship it's just means I'm respecting their rules.

Listen. If u think we can make even one time exception because you don't know the rules imagine the bots and how curators will see if images are free to use? Curators are paid less, so just by providing source please follow the rules. Even Hivewatchers are paid less. If u see all are struggling to fulfill there roles to keep the blockchain clean from abuse. If u follow rule to source images then we can see if it's free to use or not. Please cooperate and save everyone's time.

Hive can't allow 1 time exception as it will be bad if bot nets attack. I like you confidence to ask questions.