Dried Flowers are all that remain

in Freewriters3 years ago

During my eighth grade, we had a small patch of soil in my house perimeter. We bought a number of seeds and planted them in the garden behind our house. My friend and I, took to gardening on a Sunday noon and planted them seeds all over the garden. We tried, with our knowledge, our best to plant them so that we can yield some growth out of it. My friend told me to sow multiple seeds at a co-ordinate lest some of them fail to grow.

As days went past, the seeds started to grow into several plants and one too many at each co-ordinate for my friends estimation went wrong. All the seeds were hybrids, so no chance of failing to grow. in one particular patch, i had planted orca seeds and they were growing pretty fast. Every day as i left to school, i would marvel at the plants and was waiting for it to bloom, for i did not yet knew what the plant was. One day, flowers started to bloom. They had flourescent petals with a violet stalk in the middle. They were some beautiful flowers and I gave in and plucked one and saved it in my biology text book.

image.png

from wikipedia gallery

By the time we had biology class, my textbook had violet blots in it because of the flower. I was surprised at the amount of color that was stored in the flower's stymen. And the joke was that i placed the flower in botony section.

After three - four days, the okras started to grow. I was very happy. I was able to yield 2 to 3 kilos of it. And okra's were my favorite to begin with. My mothers collegues used to call me ' రొట్టె బెండకాయ' , meaning roti and okra curry.

One day after my school when i returned, i found that all the plants were pluck out and a jasmine bush was planted instead. I felt immense sadness mixed with fury and helplessness. Upon my inquiry, they were planted by the land owners.

Then all i had left was a dried flower and a voilet blot in my textbook.

Sort:  

Oh no puede ser, es una historia triste, las flores las han arrancado y puesto otra en su lugar.

Yes. It was sad. But its a nice that i wont forget.
Thanks for reading

A stained textbook - not coffee or food stains, but flower stains. In the botany section. :) #Love it!

my textbook had violet blots in it because of the flower. I was surprised at the amount of color that was stored in the flower's stymen.

I brush up against a lily and later discover rusty or orange smears on my clothes. I can relate!

Also sad to say I can relate to the flower bed replaced with jasmine. When we sold our first home, my purple iris and orange poppies had graced the kitchen door for five years. We drove by a year later, and all had been removed, replaced by some boring shrubbery. Ouch. My beloved flowers - gone!!!

Thanks for your kind words

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @azarmadr3.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more