The Chronicles of Karate Joe - Episode 3: A Business Model to End All Business Models (short fiction for #freewrite prompt "future business")

in Freewriterslast year (edited)

"But how?" she demanded, her eyes snapping back into focus. "I mean, I suppose the Resistance™ could've blacked out our memories. They'd do it if they needed to. If they thought it'd serve the mission. They have that kind of tech..."

"Yeah", Joe agreed, "they have the tech. They could easily have fucked with our heads. There's any number of barriers they could've put up, to keep us from remembering. They could even have patched up the gaps with false memories, or done a major overhaul, erased everything, taken all the memories that were real, replaced 'em with something else...we wouldn't have a clue. Well. except for this..." He paused, glancing back at the kids. "The real question is: how could they have erased the taste of it? You know what they say about it. You know it as well as I do. 'Once you taste it...'"

"...you never stop tasting it'" Jane finished flatly. "Yeah. I know. The whole fucking world knows. It's the business model to end all business models. The slogan to end all slogans. In the future, anyway. Our future..." She trailed off, frowning. "But...ok, look...but how are we supposed to know what it actually tastes like? I mean, nobody can describe it...so what if we actually are tasting it? What if we've always been tasting it? What if we've been tasting it this whole fucking time, and we just can't tell, because we're just...we're just used to it?"

Karate Joe snorted. "Not likely. I think I'd know if I was a deranged lunatic hell bent on destruction. Or a superhero".

"Would you though?" Jane asked gently...


Note: this installment contains Sunday's prompt, "more barriers", as well as today's prompt, "future business" because I cut the story off too early in the Sunday episode 😆


Read Ep 1 here: https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@bennettitalia/the-chronicles-of-karate-joe-episode-1-ball-winders-short-fiction-for-freewrite-prompt-ball-winder


Read Ep 2 here: https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@bennettitalia/the-chronicles-of-karate-joe-episode-2-more-barriers-short-fiction-for-freewrite-prompt-more-barriers


Written in response to the following prompt: https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-1928-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-ball-winder


patrick-fore-AfhSPYdkxiU-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

Sort:  

Ohh!! This is good!! What if we tasted it all along?
Good to see you, my friend!
!ALIVE
!LUV

@bennettitalia! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wandrnrose7. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hail and well met dear friend! It's so good to see you too, big smile on my face 😊. I'm just jumping back in, we'll see more of each other ✨

Awesome! That's two old friends in one week!

Who's the other? Do I know them?

I don't know what this ALIVE token is yet, will have to check it out. Thank you!

I just recently found it.
Check out wearealiveandsocial.com
That is where this token comes from.

Found the FAQ on their discord, which took me to this: https://www.wearealiveand.social/hive-155221/@wearealive/we-are-alive-tribe-the-guide

Looks cool!

I saw you drop in! I am still learning.

I was just looking at it, but I have to be honest I can't make heads or tails of it yet. Usually takes me a minute to figure out how anything new to me on the blockchain works 😅

hahahahahaha!
Love this story. Still don't know the answers to my questions, and have even more!

😁 Glad you're enjoying it. All in good time!