Original Poetry: "A not fairy tale", by bonzopoe

in Freewriters3 years ago


Source

A not fairy tale

I know I'm not who you expected.
You thought you would burn with fire and not ice.
That you would be happy as in the stories,
and I have not been able to give you a happily ever after.

I know I'm not what you want me to be.
I'm not a brave prince
nor do I kill dragons.
I'm just a man that fights day after day
with the fears of him.

I know you didn't expect to love me.
That you never thought that by stealing a kiss from you
it could also steal your heart.
But here we are despite everything,
despite yourself.

I know I am not what you deserve.
But I promise to always take care of you from the shadows
if you illuminate me with your light,
and you dare with me to write a story
that ends by saying:
And they tried happily ever after.

©bonzopoe, 2021.



We have grown up believing many times in fairy tales, happy ending stories, princes charming and perfect women, but life is not like that.

In this text I wanted to express that real life is not like in Disney movies. It's unpredictable and weird and wonderful, and scary and unfair too. And that loving someone is an act of courage, a decision, a shared commitment, and that if we accept that, all endings can be happy because we are with that person who gives meaning to everything.

This is another one of those texts that suddenly comes out of nowhere. This time from the first sentence of the text that suddenly came to mind: "I know I'm not who you expected." I hope it was to his liking.



Thank you very much for reading this post and dedicating a moment of your time. Until next time and remember to leave a comment.


imagen.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @bonzopoe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 21000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hi bonzopoe,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.