You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sax Mather - Day 495! - 5 Minute Freewrite: #ThrowbackThursday

in Freewriters19 days ago

Three years later... while searching for something else....
I came across this.
You are the best!! You are one of a very people who read my words.
But.
I quit writing.
Now I wish I had kept writing.
I STOPPED WRITING
In large part because nobody (beside you, @owasco, and a few - a very few! - others) would read my stuff.
But.
I still read my own stuff!
I'll find something from years ago, and I'm amazed at details I'd forgotten.
And the voice. Hey. I recognize that voice.
That is MY voice!
I may be my only fan, but I'm genuine fan of my own writing.
LOL LOL
Thank you @owasco, @Raj808, @myjob, and all who have read my ramblings all these years.
You are my treasure.
And I treasure your words too.
Sad to say, I have stopped reading too - at least, I rarely visit Hive anymore.
Why.
Why.
Time to say "Get thee behind me, Satan" to the voice of futility and despair, and go, go, embrace whoever is around and still speaking to me!
(Thank you for still speaking to me!)

Sort:  

Believe you me, I have noticed that you stopped writing, and I miss you!!!!
You visit less, as I understand it, because you can't access your wallet, no? That must be very frustrating!!!

The wallet, no, that has nothing to do with it; not with writing, nor with reading Hive posts regularly.
Never has it been for some cash incentive that I write. I do need to resolve access to that wallet so I can delegate and host contests again.
THANK YOU, and thank you for encouraging me and being a loyal friend! You have never let me down nor shunned me for harboring a different view of things.

You have never let me down nor shunned me for harboring a different view of things.

And I never will.

xo

Please never stop writing, in fact, the way you have with putting words in writing you should write books. I only have a handful of people who read what I write, but my biggest motivation is that one day my grandkids or maybe even their grandkids will find my rambling ons and read how my life was way back from 1956 to 2024 and hopefully years to come.

If I only had something like this where my parents wrote about their parents and their childhood, what a treasure that would be.

Thank you, @myjob! Yes, if our parents and grandparents had kept a written memoir of what their lives were like, and who was in their lives, what a treasure we'd have -- after a while, we who heard the stories die off, and most of the stories die with us. UNLESS WE WROTE THEM DOWN.

I actually did write a novel- 500 pages, finished in 1999; another book in 2008; a novella for NaNoWrimo, then half of one for March Madness. I workshopped the first two (no comment!). I wrote short stories.

Thank you for the kind words!

See I just knew you had to be a writer, your words always flow like a beautiful river.